We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining as it should be...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fossett's

Fossett's
Keswick Hall at Monticello, Keswick, VA 22947
4349793440
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fossett's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dining as it should be...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I knew it was going to be a great evening even before we sat down..the hostess, looking at my wife's shawl, changed our table to one near the fireplace and our evening began with the warmth of crackling oak and the dazzle of a brilliant white tablecloth! The room is very comfortable, finely decorated, and with tables spaced for privacy and conversation. Our waiter, Max, promptly brought drinks and answered our questions about the menu...local products expertly prepared and served without the all-too-pervasive theatrics of many high-end establishments. I had a fois gras appetizer that had a pleasant, ginger powder crust - a flavor combination that was eye-opening. Following that, I had crab cakes made with pureed scallops as a binder (no breading whatsoever) and a radish slaw accompaniement that was the perfect textural and flavor counterpoint to the crab...outstanding. My wife had slow-cooked, locally raised beef, which had the texture and flavor of pot roast, but expertly seasoned and paired with roasted root vegetables so that it was many steps above comfort food. We had wine by the glass ...a full bodied merlot for my wife and Keswick's own chardonnay for me on Max's recommendations - they were perfect choices. The wine list is extensive and priced for all wallets.
Soothed and sated, we had tea and coffee as our dessert. The cost was $225, w/o tip, which we felt was a small price for two hours of fine food and new flavors in peaceful, relaxing surroundings.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    22
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I'm married now?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It's a nice touch, trying to greet the guests by name; however, be prepared at this restaurant as they assume that you're married. My boyfriend and I had a good laugh about it, but be forewarned if that's a touchy subject with you and your dinner date! It was dark when we arrived, so we didn't get the beautiful views others write about. Both our meals (I had salmon; he had chicken) were very good, but we agreed with other reviewers that the bread was quite dry. One other detail -- if you're looking for restrooms as you're leaving and the one upstairs is occupied, there are several more downstairs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a very good restaurant; the food is well prepared with good ingredients and excellent service. I tried the fried oyster salad -- oysters where done perfecly with a good clean crunch, no grease; bucatini -- tomato sauce with sausage, peppers, and datew, with the flavors well blended; tenderloin -- perfectly cooked at medium rare, grilled asparagus, roasted potatoes; creme brulee. All were perfectly executed. The wine list is good, and the sommelier pleasant and informative. The service was attentive but not smoothering,

The downsides -- the golf course is under construction so the view is not great; the bread is freshly baked but bland (but the butter is good). The menu is good, but traditional -- if you wnat something highly unusual or innovative, this restaurant is not for you.

If you want an excellent, well-executed, well-prepared meal, this is a good place to come. Be aware that a meal with three courses (appetizer, main course, dessert), drinks, wine, tax and tip, came to about $120 a person, so we will likely only return for a special occasion

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic food prepared with care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My smoking hot girlfriend and I both have food allergies. These people were very accomodating and prepared to deal with it. We got spectacular fresh food served in a timely manner. The atmosphere was wonderful. We would have probably stayed for drinks if we didn't have to get to a concert that night.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“tender night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Beef tenderloin was excellent. Pink and very tender. Wait staff was incredibly attentive and helpful. Complementary dessert was a great touch.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fossett's also viewed

 

Been to Fossett's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fossett's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.