We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope and Glory Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Irvington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hope and Glory Inn
65 Tavern Road, Irvington, VA 22480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Irvington B&B and Inns
Aspen
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages and had a delightful experience. After reading many of the reviews before our arrival, we would concur with all who have had the opportunity to stay at this unique inn. The staff and owners are extremely helpful and professional. The breakfasts are quite good; however, the dinner is sensational. This inn is indeed a very special one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    11
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
86
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I've stayed at the Hope and Glory before, with my fiance. It's an understatement that we fell in love with the Inn itself - the way it felt, the sense of peace there, the beautiful grounds and all the fresh air. More than that, we fell in love with the people. I've written before about Meseret and Peggy and Dudley, the owners.

It was both of our second weddings and it was completely amazing. I work full time and have two children; my fiance is in the same boat. I mention this only because our time was limited. Because I had gotten to know Peggy a bit, I trusted her judgment implicitly. We worked out a budget and Peggy handled everything. Her entire goal and mission is to give the highest level of service to every person who has the chance to walk through the door. They only do a small number of weddings per year; I understand now why. The level of detail and attention we received was indescribable. Our family and friends were blown away by the attention they received.

I felt cared for at a very deep level. Every bump or issue was solved seamlessly and with minimal stress to me. We had some personal stress in our lives while there over our wedding weekend, and Peggy, Dudley and Meseret leant a hand and an ear whenever it was needed.

I would be remiss to not mention Ann. Her food the entire weekend was amazing. Each dish is prepared with the next dish in mind. How she manages to make simple foods taste like some exotic dish is beyond us. We affectionately refer to her corn on the cob as "corn crack".

Mesert's midnight pizzas, which she happily whipped up for anyone who asked, were also delicious. I will always treasure the memories I have of sitting in the quiet dining room, chatting with the staff. Special thanks to Robin for putting up with all of my family and friend's bizarre and frequent requests, and to Samantha who patiently embraced my OCD and sat for hours cleaning up some chalk writing that had smudged on the trip from Richmond.

We waited quite a while to get married, and when we did, we wanted something personal and intimate. We wanted something to blend our families. We wanted a ceremony that spoke to our commitment to each other and included the support our friends and families had given us. Dudley helped us craft the exact perfect ceremony, and his officiating of it felt like someone who'd known us for years was giving it.

Finally, there are some things more important than money. They understood and worked with our budget, but were direct about things we could not cut corners on. Without exception, they were right. We will go back for our anniversary, and hopefully many other times (we don't want to wait until May!).

We send much love and gratitude to the Inn and all those who helped make our long weekend there one of the most amazing experiences of our lives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Hope and Glory Inn. Everyone we met--including the owners and the woman at the front desk--went out of their way to make sure we felt welcome. The facility is beautifully decorated and breakfast was delicious. Everything was just perfect, and I highly recommend this charming B&B!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, NC
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent a birthday celebration on a Thursday night here recently, and were so pleased that we chose this inn. Being peopprietors of our own bed and breakfast, we have high standards, and they were definitely met! Not only is the inn a peaceful retreat from bustling everyday life, but it is beautifully decorated in an upscale shabby chic decor, with whimsical touches everywhere. The owners were delightful, helpful, and couldn't be nicer. We loved our room, number three, decorated in blue and yellow, with an upstairs balcony, offering a view of the nicely landscaped grounds. The bathroom was large and absolutely spotless! Do not miss their adorable bar "Detention," the cutest little bar possible! We had cocktails there prior to dinner, and a brandy there after dinner.

Dinner was spectacular! The chic dining room, decorated in a sophisticated palette of white, taupe, and black, with twinkling lights, was absolutely stunning, and the epitome of romantic dining. Dinner was really delicious, featuring local oysters and rockfish. The piece de resistance was the divine sticky toffee pudding, the best we have ever eaten, even in England! Warm, rich, perfect!

We can't rave enough about how much we enjoyed our stay!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We received a gift for a one night stay, but after reviewing online realized a two night stay was more to our liking. We were right! Suffice to say, it's difficult to write something original, beyond what's already been written, so I highly recommend seeing some reviews before this as they're quite appropriate. What most impressed me was the amount of crafted whimsey found throughout the property. Very intentional and most effective. What becomes even more amazing are the "amentities" found both within and out into the village of Irvington. Peggy and Dudley maintain a treasure. Mezzert is a warm and wonderful hostess and Anne is a delightful chef that turns simple into elegant. The warmth experienced here is genuine and given as though you are a dear friend who's come to visit in their home. That is a rare find, and one that deserves to be emulated elsewhere. We'll return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Stone, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I am very fortunate to live on Virginia's Northern Neck, only a few miles from the Hope and Glory Inn and the Tides Inn in Irvington. Many reviewers have lauded the marvelous accommodations and the charming owners of the Hope and Glory, Peggy and Dudley Patteson, and I agree with all that praise! In addition to the Inn and the hosts, the Hope and Glory has offered cooking lessons and dinner conducted by their marvelous Chef, Ann Kirkmyer. These have been great fun as well as scrumptous! Ann is a Paris-trained chef with a delightful personality. She put together four different menus offered over the winter months. My husband and I took the sophisticated retro dinner class featuring martinis, Steak Diane and cherries jubilee, and the easy entertaining class featuring champagne and coq au vin. One can take the class and stay for dinner, take the class only, or come for dinner only. We did both. Ann has inventive ways of taking basic ingredients, like peas or potatoes, and turning them into very special side dishes, using ingredients that can be purchased on the Northern Neck. After the demonstration class, the "students" retire to the cocktail lounge of the H&G for a drink, then head back to the dining room to taste the delicious food prepared from the menu. The classes are small and fun. Even though the winter has now given way to spring and the classes will not be available until later in the year, Ann is the full-time chef at the Inn and her dinners are available from Thursday through Monday. You will be charmed and your taste buds will be thrilled!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I, sadly, just left Hope and Glory Inn. We have been in Virginia for less than a week and have about 5 more days to go on a whirlwind tour. We really should have planned more time in this lovely little town and less...anywhere else.
We stayed in a cottage out back and it was delightful. The furnishings were comfortable, decorations so pleasant, and the rocking chairs on the front porch were exactly what we needed. We felt pampered from the moment we arrived, as another reviewer said, "without an ounce of stuffiness." Every need was answered and we had the quiet serenity we craved. Maraset welcomed us as a perfect hostess always will, and Peggy handled every curveball we sent with complete grace. Several different times we needed something out of the ordinary, but that didn't faze these innkeepers. Need a place to make a four hour phone call? Check. Gotta hang out somewhere after check out? Check. Leave your backpack? Check.
I sure hope we have a chance to come back to the Irvington area. Hope and Glory will be our destination, for sure.

Room Tip: We loved Cottage 5. If you don't like stairs, though, pick a different one. They seem to be all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hope and Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope and Glory Inn

Address: 65 Tavern Road, Irvington, VA 22480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Irvington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Top 10 in the US" - five times. Fodor's, Frommer's and Moon travel guides - perennially awarded their highest ratings. Recommended by Select Registry. Historic schoolhouse eclectically styled in a trendy waterfront resort town full of chic shops. Soak in a hip pool; taste wine in our nationally acclaimed vineyard, The Dog and Oyster; or, cruise onto the water aboard our oyster boat, an authentic Chesapeake Bay "dead rise." Experience incredible spa treatments with Patricio and savor Chef Anne Kirkmyer's fine dining in our Dining Hall. Extraordinary corporate retreats and magical weddings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hope And Glory Hotel Irvington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope and Glory Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hope and Glory Inn to your Saves list