We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming, idyllic oasis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope and Glory Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Irvington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hope and Glory Inn
Save Saved
You added Hope and Glory Inn to your Saves list
65 Tavern Road, Irvington, VA 22480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Irvington B&B and Inns
Elizabeth City, NC
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“A charming, idyllic oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent a birthday celebration on a Thursday night here recently, and were so pleased that we chose this inn. Being peopprietors of our own bed and breakfast, we have high standards, and they were definitely met! Not only is the inn a peaceful retreat from bustling everyday life, but it is beautifully decorated in an upscale shabby chic decor, with whimsical touches everywhere. The owners were delightful, helpful, and couldn't be nicer. We loved our room, number three, decorated in blue and yellow, with an upstairs balcony, offering a view of the nicely landscaped grounds. The bathroom was large and absolutely spotless! Do not miss their adorable bar "Detention," the cutest little bar possible! We had cocktails there prior to dinner, and a brandy there after dinner.

Dinner was spectacular! The chic dining room, decorated in a sophisticated palette of white, taupe, and black, with twinkling lights, was absolutely stunning, and the epitome of romantic dining. Dinner was really delicious, featuring local oysters and rockfish. The piece de resistance was the divine sticky toffee pudding, the best we have ever eaten, even in England! Warm, rich, perfect!

We can't rave enough about how much we enjoyed our stay!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    11
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
92
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We received a gift for a one night stay, but after reviewing online realized a two night stay was more to our liking. We were right! Suffice to say, it's difficult to write something original, beyond what's already been written, so I highly recommend seeing some reviews before this as they're quite appropriate. What most impressed me was the amount of crafted whimsey found throughout the property. Very intentional and most effective. What becomes even more amazing are the "amentities" found both within and out into the village of Irvington. Peggy and Dudley maintain a treasure. Mezzert is a warm and wonderful hostess and Anne is a delightful chef that turns simple into elegant. The warmth experienced here is genuine and given as though you are a dear friend who's come to visit in their home. That is a rare find, and one that deserves to be emulated elsewhere. We'll return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Stone, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I am very fortunate to live on Virginia's Northern Neck, only a few miles from the Hope and Glory Inn and the Tides Inn in Irvington. Many reviewers have lauded the marvelous accommodations and the charming owners of the Hope and Glory, Peggy and Dudley Patteson, and I agree with all that praise! In addition to the Inn and the hosts, the Hope and Glory has offered cooking lessons and dinner conducted by their marvelous Chef, Ann Kirkmyer. These have been great fun as well as scrumptous! Ann is a Paris-trained chef with a delightful personality. She put together four different menus offered over the winter months. My husband and I took the sophisticated retro dinner class featuring martinis, Steak Diane and cherries jubilee, and the easy entertaining class featuring champagne and coq au vin. One can take the class and stay for dinner, take the class only, or come for dinner only. We did both. Ann has inventive ways of taking basic ingredients, like peas or potatoes, and turning them into very special side dishes, using ingredients that can be purchased on the Northern Neck. After the demonstration class, the "students" retire to the cocktail lounge of the H&G for a drink, then head back to the dining room to taste the delicious food prepared from the menu. The classes are small and fun. Even though the winter has now given way to spring and the classes will not be available until later in the year, Ann is the full-time chef at the Inn and her dinners are available from Thursday through Monday. You will be charmed and your taste buds will be thrilled!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I, sadly, just left Hope and Glory Inn. We have been in Virginia for less than a week and have about 5 more days to go on a whirlwind tour. We really should have planned more time in this lovely little town and less...anywhere else.
We stayed in a cottage out back and it was delightful. The furnishings were comfortable, decorations so pleasant, and the rocking chairs on the front porch were exactly what we needed. We felt pampered from the moment we arrived, as another reviewer said, "without an ounce of stuffiness." Every need was answered and we had the quiet serenity we craved. Maraset welcomed us as a perfect hostess always will, and Peggy handled every curveball we sent with complete grace. Several different times we needed something out of the ordinary, but that didn't faze these innkeepers. Need a place to make a four hour phone call? Check. Gotta hang out somewhere after check out? Check. Leave your backpack? Check.
I sure hope we have a chance to come back to the Irvington area. Hope and Glory will be our destination, for sure.

Room Tip: We loved Cottage 5. If you don't like stairs, though, pick a different one. They seem to be all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staying at the Hope and Glory Inn was one of the highlights of our Virginia roadtrip. Near Stratford Hall in the Northern Neck, The H&G exceeded all our expectations. Peggy and Dudley are wonderful hosts, the rooms are beautifully decorated and exceedingly comfortable, and the dinner in the restaurant sublime. My family cannot wait to return to the Hope and Glory.

Room Tip: We had cottage six and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The inn is beautiful, as wonderful as the pictures and much more. Both the the cottage we stayed in and all of the common areas offered comfort and class without an ounce of stuffiness. The staff were all attentive and helpful without being intrusive. Peggy and Dudley are the consumate innskeepers. The provide a delicious breakfast, wonderful conversation and great advice about the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

At this time I am unable to review the rooms at this Inn. We celebrated a very special birthday here in the dining room. The food was exceptional and service could not have been friendlier or more attentive. We will without a doubt visit the Hope and Glory again and will look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hope and Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope and Glory Inn

Address: 65 Tavern Road, Irvington, VA 22480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Irvington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Top 10 in the US" - five times. Fodor's, Frommer's and Moon travel guides - perennially awarded their highest ratings. Recommended by Select Registry. Historic schoolhouse eclectically styled in a trendy waterfront resort town full of chic shops. Soak in a hip pool; taste wine in our nationally acclaimed vineyard, The Dog and Oyster; or, cruise onto the water aboard our oyster boat, an authentic Chesapeake Bay "dead rise." Experience incredible spa treatments with Patricio and savor Chef Anne Kirkmyer's fine dining in our Dining Hall. Extraordinary corporate retreats and magical weddings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hope And Glory Hotel Irvington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope and Glory Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.