We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hope and Glory Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hope and Glory Inn to your Saves list
Hope and Glory Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   65 Tavern Road, Irvington, VA 22480   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Vacation Memory Guaranty
Ranked #1 of 1 Irvington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Truly Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staying at the Hope and Glory Inn was one of the highlights of our Virginia roadtrip. Near Stratford Hall in the Northern Neck, The H&G exceeded all our expectations. Peggy and Dudley are wonderful hosts, the rooms are beautifully decorated and exceedingly comfortable, and the dinner in the restaurant sublime. My family cannot wait to return to the Hope and Glory.

Room Tip: We had cottage six and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    12
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
102
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The inn is beautiful, as wonderful as the pictures and much more. Both the the cottage we stayed in and all of the common areas offered comfort and class without an ounce of stuffiness. The staff were all attentive and helpful without being intrusive. Peggy and Dudley are the consumate innskeepers. The provide a delicious breakfast, wonderful conversation and great advice about the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

At this time I am unable to review the rooms at this Inn. We celebrated a very special birthday here in the dining room. The food was exceptional and service could not have been friendlier or more attentive. We will without a doubt visit the Hope and Glory again and will look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed the Hope and Glory so much we thought it made Irvington a destination in and of itself. From the excellent hospitality, to the beautiful accommodations, to the charming idiosyncrasies--everything lived up to reputation and went beyond. Dinner was fantastic, and we made many friends both there, and throughout the town. The boat cruise was outstanding as well, and worth making time for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA then, DC now
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent a weekend at the Hope and Glory with our young dog in tow. We'd read a lot about Irvington and abut the Inn, and despite the hype, we were anything but disappointed. The Inn is beautiful, so well-decorated and with just the right amount of whimsy thrown into the mix. We had a dog-friendly room just steps from the garden - very convenient for the pup's late night outings. We ate dinner at the Inn one night, too, which was wonderful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

From the moment we walked in, Peggy made us feel so at home with a tour and quick history of the inn. A quick walk across the street we enjoyed lunch, followed by a wine tasting at Dog and Oyster Vineyard with Dudley. We shared a few laughs (at local retailer Andy's expense!) and a few grapes later, we were light on our feet back to H & G. We decided to stop in and put ourselves in "detention." Obviously I was very bad, because Meseret made me the most scrumptious and potent Cosmo of my life:) my hubby and I stumbled back to cottage #3 ( celebrating his 48th bday) and took an afternoon nap-wink wink:) ). Then, onto dinner w fabulous Chef Anne. One of the most memorable meals of our lives. The oyster appetizer, Dog and Oyster white wine and then Rockfish entree went down way too easy! The twinkle lights and conversation with Meseret made for a very special evening. We woke relaxed and rested and then had a scrumptious French toast breakfast.

It all felt like a dream. Can't wait to return! Book now and beat your winter blues away-you won't regret it! Tell them all we said hello:)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlean
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I hadn't been to the H & G in six years because of our busy lives. We decided to go back between Christmas and New Years. Nothing stays the same so we were just hoping for a repeat of our last visit. Well, this time was BETTER! Peggy and Dudley outdid themselves making our stay pleasant and quiet which is just what we wanted. We stayed in a cottage and read in front of the fireplace with our dogs at our feet. The breakfasts were different every day in a fabulous way and the addition of dinner was very welcome and tasty. Dudley went out of his way to get me a paper every morning. The lunch and dinner recommendations were perfect. The H & G ambience is just right. Clever, chic, comfortable, and most of all, welcoming.

We look forward to many happy returns.

Mickey and Dianna Campagna
Orlean, VA

Room Tip: We love the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvington
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Hampton Inn Gloucester
#1 of 2 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
19.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Washington Burgess Inn
Washington Burgess Inn
#1 of 1 in West Point
3.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#1 of 2 in Kilmarnock
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
16.0 mi away
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ma Margaret's House B&B
#1 of 5 in Reedville
5.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope and Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope and Glory Inn

Address: 65 Tavern Road, Irvington, VA 22480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Irvington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hope and Glory Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Top 10 in the US" - five times. Fodor's, Frommer's and Moon travel guides - perennially awarded their highest ratings. Recommended by Select Registry. Historic schoolhouse eclectically styled in a trendy waterfront resort town full of chic shops. Soak in a hip pool; taste wine in our nationally acclaimed vineyard, The Dog and Oyster; or, cruise onto the water aboard our oyster boat, an authentic Chesapeake Bay "dead rise." Experience incredible spa treatments and savor our Chef's fine dining in our Dining Hall. Extraordinary corporate retreats and magical weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hope and Glory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope And Glory Hotel Irvington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hope and Glory Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.