We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dog and Oyster Vineyard

The Dog and Oyster Vineyard
170 White Fences Drive, Hope and Glory Inn, Irvington, VA 22480
+1 804-438-9463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 things to do in Irvington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Dog and Oyster is an extraordinary vineyard owned by The Hope and Glory Inn. Come sip some of America's best wine and savor the world's best oysters on site.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We rode a bike from the Tides Inn and enjoyed a 6$ wine sampling. They also had oysters (raw or grilled), but we were already full. The huge -double corkscrews are really good. Good wines for such a young winery. Please go..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Unique vineyard.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The corkscrews at the entrance to the vineyard tell you where to go. Its the first winery I've been to where you can get grilled oysters to go with your wine tasting. The wines were crisp and clean, perfect pairing for the oysters. Worth visiting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut/NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cute place; Unfriendly Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We really wanted to like this place and return to it year after year, but our visit really didn't merit a return. The wines were pretty average, though perhaps good for the region. The place is reasonably cute. Our biggest issue was that the service was poor. Wine tasting rooms really require a proprietor with vivacity, color and knowledge. You want to feel that person's passion. Instead, we were greeted with monotone answers and a serious lack of warmth. I would blame a poor hire, but the person in charge appeared to be the manager. The hospitality industry requires hospitality, and this place just missed that mark. It won't be the worst place you ever visit, but it really could be so much more. Most times I do a wine tasting, I end up spending an hour or so, enjoy a bit more of my favorites and leave with a few bottles. We left here empty handed once our first samples were finished. I noticed the other couple that ventured in did likewise.
Could have just been an off day, but a little warmth and enthusiasm go a long way.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpatteson, Owner at The Dog and Oyster Vineyard, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Unfriendly – we are not.
When we read a review that rates us less than excellent, we want to learn from our mistakes so we can become a better vineyard. Unfortunately your references to “the wine”, “the place”, “the service” in your review are so general in their description we cannot determine if we are the one you remember when you visited a vineyard - now almost a year ago – August 2012. We were very distinctive then and now – you passed the world’s largest corkscrews and six adorable vineyard dogs protecting our grapes. In August of 2012, most (4 of 6) of the wines offered were not ours. They were the premium and reserve wines from Ingleside Plantation Vineyard, one of Virginia’s most revered wineries. There was no mention of these noticeable facts.
When you reference someone you believe to be a manager, we do not have one. Our wine educators report to the owners who on many occasions are active in the tasting room experience. One owner is the winegrower and is certainly not lacking in “knowledge”; the other owner, is the antithesis of someone who lacks “warmth”. In fact, this owner’s enthusiasm and passion can be described as unbridled. We do agree with you that hospitality is the key to our success and we quite frankly believe we do better than anyone.
The person you describe just does not exist in the culture we have established for our businesses. Perhaps, it was another vineyard you visited.
We do want you to visit - us. We have a very good reason for you to do so. We now have wines made by us and they are exceptional. We can say so because we went four for four - three Silvers and a Bronze at the San Francisco International Wine Competition. This competition proclaims itself to be “the largest, most influential international wine competition in America. Wines were judged by a prestigious panel of nationally recognized wine experts. Judging was based on a blind, consensual procedure, ensuring competitive integrity as it remains the nation's most respected wine competition”.
Again, please visit us; and, if you believe we can improve in some way; let us know while you are there. We welcome and value suggestions to make us better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice vineyard and pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The wine is is very, very good. The pool around the corner from the vineyard tucked in the woods is fantastic!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great wine and oysters in this casual vineyard.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We loved the white wine called The Pearl and roasted oysters! The setting was beautiful with red chairs and umbrellas against a blue sky.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog and Oyster Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to The Dog and Oyster Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dog and Oyster Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.