We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very UP Scale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nate's Trick Dog Cafe

Nate's Trick Dog Cafe
4357 Irvington Rd, Irvington, VA 22480
804-438-6363
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 restaurants in Irvington
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Great small town rest. with bigger city attitude...great food and service
RICHMOND
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very UP Scale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The atmosphere is very nice and up scale. Food is beautifully presented and very delicious. Very relaxing evening. Staff is very professional and courtesy. Make you feel special.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    36
    25
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great crab cakes, decor and vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Had dinner here one night while staying and the Hope and Glory across the street. Walking up to the place you would think it was casual, but once you get inside it almost surprises you with decor that is a mix of modern and classic, and dimly lit. We liked the vibe and the atmosphere, with high backed seating so your booth is quite private. My wife got the grilled vegetable salad with crab cakes, which were both quite good. I had 6 roasted Oysters, which were very tasty, followed by baked soft shell crabs, which were good, but not as good as my wife's crab cakes. It was a little pricey, considering the service was rather slow. Our waitress seemed to get lost, leaving us feeling if she had forgotten about us. Despite the service, it was overall, a cool place to go, but make sure you get a reservation first!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mclean, va
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nice find in Irvington. Interesting decor, and interesting menu. We ordered their calamari appetizer and shrimp, black bean appetizer. The calamari appetizer was an interesting twist on fried calamari, adding salami, olives and cheese. While the shrimp appetizer was tasty, hard to find the shrimp. Much better luck with the entrees. Crab cakes were moist and nice large pieces of crab. The tuna entree was very tasty and the sides added a diversity of flavors. Portions were too large to try the dessert menu. Service was attentive and very friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of my very favorties!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

What's not to love about Trick Dog? I can't find anything! Service is excellent. Food is good enough to write about. Great crowds -- reservations almost a must on the weekends. Love, love, love this place!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed at The Tides and ate here one evening. Delicious meal in an elegant yet casual setting. We enjoyed crab cakes and tuna.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nate's Trick Dog Cafe also viewed

 
Irvington, VA
Irvington, VA
 

Been to Nate's Trick Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nate's Trick Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.