We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what we expected!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Tides Inn to your Saves list
The Tides Inn
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   480 King Carter Drive, Irvington, VA 22480   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“not what we expected!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I planned a weekend getaway and this was our first time going here. After looking at the website and the gorgeous pictures, we couldn't pass it up. Upon seeing the website, we saw this was a "pet friendly" resort, which was very exciting because we were going to bring our small dog! When we arrived, we were very dissappointed. Our room was accessed from the outside and had a "musty" smell and very outdated. We were very shocked how humid it was inside the room. When the A/C kicked on, it was VERY cold with air blowing directly on you. The rooms were way too small, so it was either too cold or too hot. When we looked at the bed, it almost looked as if someone had been laying on it already and there was dog hair on the "clean" sheets. After we settled in, we found ourselves very uncomfortable and just plain dissappointed especially for what we paid. The website's pictures are very deceiving and there is nothing "luxurious" about this resort. Long story short, we ended up leaving that night and do not plan returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
It is always sad when someone does not like the Tides but to rate it so low on the basis of "not what one expected" is perhaps not what Trip Advisor was intended for.
Many of our rooms do have external access and this is a perfect scenario particularly for our pet friendly rooms which all have balconies and fabulous water views.
I think the humidity probably came from having patio doors open and the AC on full, that will cause a lot of condensation.
I am sorry for your dissapointment.
Gordon Slatford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    106
    38
    21
    11
See reviews for
106
184
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Really love the Tides Inn, either by land or sea. Very friendly accommodating staff, many of whom have been there for 20+ years. Very relaxing place to hang out; Lots of activities on site including hacker golf, croquet, tennis, pool, sandy beach, smores at night. Deligthful view. Try to get there several times a year. Magnificant accomodations!

Room Tip: Had a balcony room for the 1st time. Great in the early fall for sitting out and enjoying the fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Glad you had a great time, nothing like hanging out on a balcony or the terrace watching the sunset with a glass of great Virginia wine.
Gordon Slatford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just returned from wonderful weekend! So peaceful and beautiful setting. Staff is so tuned inro excellent service. Dinners were out if this world. Cookies and milk with bingo in evenings. Bicycles, horse shoes, croquet, 3 hole golf, shuttle inro town, The Dog & Oyster Vineyard close by, pool was open, boat tours of channel, so you could never xomplain id nothing to do. But if you just want to relax and enjoy the beautiful setting, you can do that then too. Also pet friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
When can you come back?
Easy question
Any time you like, and you will be very welcome.
Gordon Slatford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Warm, inviting resort with an adult-summer-camp feel. We love this place. Even though just 3 hours out of DC you're completely away: biking to the nearby town, swimming in the "regular" pool or taking the shuttle boat to the saltwater one, smores on the fire in evening, morning coffee in the lounge with "commuter" boaters, dinners and lunch on the veranda, sighting a blue heron wandering in the marshes. Next year we'll try the kayaks. Nice people, nice place, really a good value for the comfort and wonderful, generous people.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We enjoyed your response.
I am working on some extra activities next year and we will include stand up paddleboards in our fleet of complimentary watercraft next summer, this will be a fabulous activity for the more athletically inclined.
Gordon Slatford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I attended a conference here in early Sept., taking my spouse along and planning to stay an extra night. The grounds are lovely and there was lots of room for everyone. The pool is huge for a hotel, with a casual restaurant right there. The location of the pool right on the creek is reminiscent of the Caribbean. Our room was on the smaller side, but the doors opened right to a patio on the creek front, which was a lovely spot.

Wifi in the room was horrible, going in and out constantly, and there were not enough outlets for all of our electronics. The staff responded promptly when we called to say the wifi was out, but it was in and out 10 times a day. The diningroom was expensive, albeit good, so we were glad we found the little town just 3-4 miles east where there were small local restaurants and some fast food chains. service here was excellent. Everyone seemed genuine in wanting your stay to be good. Lots of fun, low key activities...golf, biking, fishing, etc. Even though the hotel is older, it has been kept up every well. I got the best night's sleep I have ever had in a hotel, because the room was really dark when the lights went out! Noise was not a problem either. It was a treat to be able to open the room's French doors to the creek view. We did notice that the a/c was unable to keep up with the sun streaming in through those doors during the day, even when we closed the blinds. The room got hot too in the afternoons.

We enjoyed the visit so much, we extended our stay an extra 2 nights and will definitely go back. It felt like a visit to the Caribbean but we could drive!

Room Tip: The room we had in the lower level with the patio on the creek was a very nice location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We appreciate your comments, certainly we are working on our Wifi, we double bandwidth annually but technology is advancing very fast!
I recognise in your review a distinct love of the Tides and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Gordon Slatford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have visited The Tides many times, but had not been in a few years. We always go by boat and stay at the marina. This year the docks had been upgraded and the bulkhead replaced. The grounds are beautiful and Carter Creek is so quaint. We played golf, croquet and tennis, along wth swimming. It was just as nice as we remembered. Will go back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tidesgm, General Manager at The Tides Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Our new floating docks and marina put us firmly back at the top of the list for a great family friendly marina on the Chesapeake with geat services, food and beautiful location.
pls call for our marina slip rates.
Gordon Slatford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Daughter (22) and I have stayed at Tides Inn twice, traveling from DC (I live in Oregon). It is an older resort, one of those properties originally owned and maintained by a family that was sold to a large hotel operator. I think this is ideal - an interesting layout (not a high rise), gracious long-time employees, a "summer camp" concept (complete with daily activities!), beautiful landscaping, both fresh and salt water pools... Yes, the screen doors have some problems. But the linens, rugs, beds, etc. are all new and first quality. We love the peace and tranquility. This second visit we upgraded to a better suite overlooking the lagoon, we saw a Blue Heron from our deck. I found it to be reasonably priced for the amenities, and we will be back again.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a suite on the lagoon side. With the 3rd night free it was a real bargain! I agree w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn

Address: 480 King Carter Drive, Irvington, VA 22480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Irvington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tides Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a lush peninsula in Virginia's historic Northern Neck, the waterfront Tides Inn has welcomed generations of friends and families who cherish the relaxed pace of local life and the Southern hospitality of our staff. Guests can learn to sail at the on-site sailing school or explore the calm waterways via paddle boards, kayaks and canoes while spotting golden eagles, osprey and herons. The 18-hole Golden Eagle golf course is a pleasantly challenging wooded course with water hazards, and there is also a Par-3 course, tennis, croquet, and spa, plus bicycles for pedaling into town. Our farm-to-table cuisine highlights oysters from the nearby Rappahannock River, and we're located on the Chesapeake Bay Wine Trail with several Virginia wineries nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your The Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Irvington
Tides Hotel Irvington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tides Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.