We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff- inconvenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baia Grande

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Baia Grande to your Saves list
Baia Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Joao Guita | Praia da Coelha, Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sesmarias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff- inconvenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 10 Days at the end of June. Hotel is lovely- clean, good quality and all the staff are really friendly and will do their utmost to ensure your stay is exactly as you had planned. We were B&B and breakfast was good- had a large range of food and drinks which get replenished throughout the duration of breakfast, although it tended to be a lot busier from 8.45 am-end.
Cocktails in the bar are amazing, high quality drinks presented in a great way- they do take a little while to be made but that is only because the staff take a lot of time over them to ensure they are right and taste nice! They also have a happy hour in the early evening which is good!
The hotel runs a shuttle bus into Albufeira a few times a day, which is free- we used this service a lot to go into Albufeira for tea and then got a taxi back later on in the evening. Taxi back from where the bus drops you off is around €7.50.
The bus takes you into the Old Town of Albufeira which is more restaurants and a couple of streets of bars. There are some amazing places to eat which are a little more pricey, as you might expect, but also cheap and cheerful places on the beach front too. If you want to go into the new town then you can get the shuttle bus into the Old Town then catch the tourist train to the Strip which is a lot more active, a lot more bars but also a wide range of places to eat also. Round trip on the tourist train is €4 each or a one way trip is €2.50- it is walking distance to the strip from the old town in about 15 minutes.
The hotel also runs a free shuttle bus to Gale Beach which is a large beach about 7-10 minutes drive away. We found this a lovely day out and there are a couple of places to eat on the beach front.
Praia de Cohela is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel- quiet little beach with a couple of caves that the Algarve is famous for. You can also walk along the top of the cliffs from here which is enjoyable in the evening.
Overall a really pleasant stay at Baia Grande- location issues can be tackled through use of the shuttle bus and taxis, although hire cars are available too! We didn't have any issues with the location, but be aware that not many places are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Definitely pay for a sea view room- it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest Tand123,
Thank you very much for taking your time to review about Baia Grande.
I am very happy that overall you had a positive experience at our hotel. Thank you very much for you positive remarks about our staff and service.
I hope that you return to Baia Grande in the future.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    249
    81
    23
    17
See reviews for
132
352
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here for a week in June/July and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is lovely and also very clean. The reception staff are always very helpful and cheerful. The rooms are big, as is the bathroom, more than enough room for two people. We did not pay extra for a sea/pool view room so looked out over the car park, which was not great but as we only slept in there, was sufficient for our needs.

Breakfast is also very good with a great selection of food - even nice bacon and decent sausages, which are usually unheard of except in the UK! You can fill your water bottles from the machine in the restaurant, so no need to go to a mini mart and pay extra.

Drinks prices are, of course, more expensive than outside but we only drank in the hotel when we had been out beforehand. We usually took the free shuttle to the town, where everything is cheaper.

There are a few restaurants around the hotel within walking distance and two of them were excellent. One is 500yds opposite the hotel called something like O'Meirheiro and the other is Dom Dinis a short 5 minute walk. If you like Indian food the Shaan Palace, which is a short cab ride away, is worth a visit.

The Coelho beach is a 10 minute walk and is OK but very small and the water is freezing. Good if you have children though as small enough to keep your eye on them.

Only downfall for the hotel is that the wifi is only available free in the reception area. Hotels should have free wifi throughout, as holidays as expensive anyway.

if I went back to Portugal I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest JackieL54,
Thank you very much for your recent stay and comment about Baia Grande.
I am very happy that you had a positive experience with us. Thank you very much for you positive remarks about our staff and service.
I hope that you return to Baia Grande in the future.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We went at the end of June 2014 for 10 days as two families in two rooms and firstly stayed in the resort facing rooms for 6 days which had limited views before getting the opportunity of upgrading to two pool facing rooms for the remainder of our holiday; which was very much worth it as the rooms were beautiful with good balconies and a private corridor between the rooms which meant the kids could run freely between rooms.

The piano bar staff, pool bar staff, restaurant staff and reception staff were all very friendly and helpful and it surprised me to read people who stayed at the same time thought they were rude; but I guess you get back what you give, it's nice to learn the basic local language pleasantries when speaking to the staff; yes most of the staff speak many languages but if you make an effort back for them the reception in their face is wonderful. The pool bar staff are exceptionally nice and have an excellent and patient way with the children in a bar which van be very busy at times with food and drinks.

The hotel is away from the busy parts of Albuferia but close enough to many lovely restaurants and secluded beaches. The hotel has a good variety of buffet food for breakfast and evening meals which have a Portuguese flavour to them; and you either like buffet meals or you don't; but you'd be hard pushed or overly fussy to say there was nothing you liked. Our children weren't overly keen with the buffet food; but that is more down to them being young and fussy eaters. The Pool bar has a good range of simple meals for during the day which I couldn't fault.

Out and about we found the Margem Sol restaurant a 5 minute walk away was very friendly with good food, (sea bass was excellent), or get a short taxi drive to Sao Domingos restaurant if you want an excellent choice of meals from a menu in super clean and friendly restaurant. We would thoroughly recommend the Sao Domingos to anyone.

We met a lovely couple who are well travelled yet they have been coming back to this hotel for the past 13 years; so it was no surprise when we found ourselves asking the hotel staff for contact details for 2015 offers they might be running as we will definitely be going back.

Well done to Paulo and his team at the Baia Grande!

Room Tip: There are rooms called sea view or pool view, depending upon which website you book through, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest MartyBabz ,
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for sharing your comments about Baia Grande.
I am very happy that you and your family had a wonderful experience with us. I glad that we were able to accommodate you request and provide you and your family a good experience with us.
It will be our pleasure to receive you again at Baia Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

lovely week stay in June. couldn't fault the hotel cleanliness, rooms lovely. breakfasts very good.
entertainment on every night. armed guard patrols evenings. the bus is on daily to the beach and town. nice restaurants by gale beach and bar . nice restaurant straight down the track straight ahead when out of hotel on he left. Supermarket 10 mins walk. would go again, and recommend this hotel. not really for children but great for adults

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest kathrynmole,
Thank you very much for your recent stay and comment about Baia Grande.
I am very happy that you had a wonderful experience with us. Thank you very much for you positive remarks about our staff and service.
I hope that you return to Baia Grande in the future.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Spent 5 days here, really clean and ideal sized hotel, great facilities, pool and area is lovely, staff on reception are polite and really helpful. food was great, drink prices were reasonable for the area. only downsize is there isn't a shop or supermarket nearby, so getting water is a bit of a pain, hotel has a tourist shop, but doesn't sell food or drink, we seemed to have a bit of a problem at night in the piano bar, getting served, 20 min wait for a drink, one waiter serving, and when i went to the bar, couldn't get served there either,
wouldn't put us off going back though, Definitely a 4 star hotel.
Thanks again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest Paul R,
Thank you very much for your visit and for your positive post about your stay with us.
I am happy to know that overall you had a positive stay at Baia Grande. I am sorry for situation at the bar. We already took action to overcome that kind of issues
I hope that you return to Baia Grande in the future.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Myself and 2 friends recently stayed here for a post-exam holiday for 3 nights. I had organised hotel transport from the airport to hotel (which only cost €40 for a 50min journey), our flight was delayed yet I had no trouble re-organising later transport and although I was slightly sceptical that no one would be there due to how delayed our flight was, however someone was there and he was very friendly and it was an efficient journey to the hotel. On arrival I was very impressed with how grande the hotel looked. The lady who checked us in was very polite and helpful considering it was midnight when we arrived! The room was absolutely fantastic! Very spacious, clean and had a great view of the pool area and sea view. Considering the price we payed I was very impressed with how fantastic our room was. There is very little I can fault on this hotel. Furthermore, we had to cut our holiday short on very late notice but the hotel had no issue with amending our adjustments and didn't even charge us for the extra nights we were supposed to stay for!
The only negatives I have is that we did encounter a couple of not so polite staff and the location of the hotel isn't that great. We had to get taxis every where, which didn't cost too much. Additionally, the free shuttle service the hotel offers to the Gale beach isn't worth it - the beach is dead and not great, I'd highly recommend Old Town and the beach there. Other than these few negatives, I was very pleased with my choice in hotel.

Room Tip: I'd definitely recommend the suites with a sea/pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest Cartier F
Thank you very much for your visit and for your positive post about you recent stay at Baia Grande.
I am happy that you and enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your compliments to our staff and service
I hope that you return to Baia Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spent a week at the Baia Grande and I could have stayed much longer. The quality of service and friendliness of staff is outstanding. Particuarly the reception staff who were very helpful and always had a smile. Our room was very clean and spacious and our request for a mid floor pool view room was given and we loved it. The bed was massive and lots of mirrors (for us ladies). The only negative is the positioning of the plug sockets but I find that an issue in every hotel. The bathroom was very modern and the shower was nice and strong. Lots of waredrobe space too.

The pool was large and very pretty with a little bridge and palm trees surrounding it. An added bonus was the hammock style sun loungers around the pool kept my boyfriend entertained whilst sunbathing. The food at the pool bar was basic but nice and good value. I would recommend a sangria at the hotel bar during happy hour super cheap and VERY strong :-)

The hotel is qute remote but there is a small covenience store about a 5-10 minute walk away and we found a lovely beach a further 5 minutes down the road which belongs to a nearby hotel sao rafael. Taxis are so cheap and frequent that we didnt find the location an issue. We used the free shuttle during the day and then a taxi into the old town at night was usually about 8 euros and the new town 10 euros.

We had a issue with our trip to zoo marine when our transport didnt turn up, we called the hotel and they sorted a taxi free of charge which came straight away, which I was very impressed by its clear they pride themselves on service.

I will definetly be visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: Best rooms are pool facing and i would say the 3rd floor for a good sea view also
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest rebecca j
Thank you very much for your visit to Baia Grand and for you positive feedback.
If you want to return for more days you are always welcome at the Baia Grande family.
Thank you for your compliments to our staff and service. It is very rewarding to know that we had a positive impact on our guest’s vacations.
I hope that you return to Baia Grande.
Kind Regards
Paulo Dias
Manager
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
+351289583500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Baia Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Grande

Address: Rua Joao Guita | Praia da Coelha, Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Sesmarias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sesmarias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Algarve, the Baia Grande Hotel is 3km from the center of Albufeira and 750mts from the Coelha Beach. Four star high quality with 131 rooms, spacious play areas and gardens, providing an elegant, comfortable and relaxing environment. Located 750 meters from Coelha Beach and 3 kilometres from the centre of Albufeira, Baia Grande Hotel with amazing sea views has 131 spacious rooms, play areas and gardens. Of the 131 rooms 10 are Senior Suites with Sea View, 2 Junior Suites with Land View, 80 rooms with Sea View and 39 with Land View. All rooms are equipped with 2 single beds (for up to 1 extra bed), private bathroom, LCD TV with satellite channels, individual air-conditioning, minibar, safe, direct telephone and balcony. In the public areas are 2 restaurants, the "Mermaid Restaurant" where you can taste buffet breakfast or dinner overlooking the pool and theme nights (includes barbecue in summer), the Restaurant "A La Carte" with its romantic atmosphere. The "Piano Bar" overlooking the sea where you can enjoy live music and great cocktails and "Neptune Bar", located next to the pool where you can enjoy snacks, light meals and drinks throughout the day. Hotel Baia Grande also offers indoor heated pool, outdoor swimming pool for adults and children, Jacuzzi (in both pools), sauna, massage and treatment room, table tennis, billiards, table football, giant chess game, free WI-FI internet in the reception area, live music, a limousine service, rent-a-car, TV and reading room, private parking and transportation for hotel guests to Albufeira (4 times per day, 7 days a week) and Praia da Gale (Monday to Friday, 3 times per day). The reception is open 24 hours. Grand Bay Hotel has 4 meeting rooms for your events, "Sao Rafael", "Sesmarias", "Albufeira" and "Atlantico" with a maximum capacity of 300 people. The Baia Grande Hotel can also organize your banquets, weddings, company parties and other special occasions meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Baia Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Grande Albufeira
Baia Grande Hotel Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baia Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.