We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baia Grande

Save Saved
You added Baia Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baia Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Joao Guita | Praia da Coelha, Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Sesmarias
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was the second time we have stayed at The Baia Grande though the first time must have been more or less when first opened.
As Christmas and New Year was very busy for us in the U.K. it was great to be looked after by happy smilling people. We enjoyed 2 weeks of pure relaxation. January is always quiet on the Algarve but we enjoy the beautiful beaches and hiring a car to travel up and down the coast.
You should find the Portuguese people welcoming, delightful to meet as in the Hotel.
We enjoyed lovely sea views in a quiet room and liked the fact there was British T.V. when relaxing after a day out. Only suggestion would be bedroom needed updating otherwise very happy and would stay again at The Baia Grande. Thank you very much for the Birthday Cake which was a very big surprise and thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Higher rooms quieter and take a travel kettle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your stay and for your review about Baia Grande.
I am very happy that you returned to Baia Grande for the second time. It is always a pleasure to receive returning clients.
I would like to inform you that we are currently changing our rooms, namely the bathrooms and the mattress, and will continually do so in order to improve Baia Grande.
I hope to see you again at Baia Grande.
Kind regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    201
    67
    20
    15
See reviews for
110
290
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon UK.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Its surprisingly difficult to write this review, bearing in mind just how good our hotel stay was.
From top to bottom every aspect of our hotel experience, was just brilliant !
After a long days travelling, we arrived a little dishevelled and tired, the staff right from the outset were friendly polite and efficient.
Our room was clean and very comfortable, serviced daily, with those little added touches, that do make the difference, such as your nightwear neatly laid out on the bed, on your return.
Eating at the Baia Grande, although we eat out on numerous occasions, was our prefered option, because the food was just so good.
Praise has to go to some very able staff, in both the kitchens and bar and the serving staff especially.
During our weeks vacation, we were entertained on three evenings in The Piano Bar, by quality local entertainers.
Not being overly interested in drinking, I only sampled a few of the freshly made cocktails on offer at the bar, lovely, they were indeed!
I personally found the hotels position just right for my needs, 10 minutes walk from beautiful Rabbit beach and 5 minutes via taxi to Albufeira town.
The areas surroundings our hotel 99 % residential in nature, so quiet and peaceful. But within easy walk of a few local amenities.
To be quite honest with you, The Baia Grande is a very very good well run hotel, perfect for a relaxing holiday.
We will be returning in the future, most definitely!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your stay and for your review about Baia Grande.
It is rewarding to know that you had a good time with us during your stay. I appreciate your comments about our staff and service
It will be our pleasure to welcoming you again to Baia Grande.
Kind regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stopped at the Biai Grande for 4 night from November 24th 2013. This is our 2nd stay at this lovely hotel. When we first arrived we asked for a room change to improve our enjoyment of the sun. The staff couldn’t have been more obliging as there was nothing wrong with the first room offered which also had beautiful sea views. The 27th was my birthday and when we returned from breakfast the room maid left a lovely sculpture in the shape of a heart with our bath towels. She also greeted me with a lovely ‘happy birthday’. At breakfast and evening meal the lady who shows you to the table always had a warm welcoming smile and worked extremely hard through all the sittings. This year I also enjoyed the inside pool which is delightful and this really enhanced my stay (you must by Portuguese law wear a swimming cap, so remember to pack one, or buy one from reception). We hired a car so didn’t use the transport into town, but hiring a car is cheap in Portugal if you do a bit of research. 50 euro’s we paid with full insurance for a small car. Lovely walks close to the hotel along the cliff coast line and a cracking beach not 10minutes walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Client,
On behalf of all our staff thank you very much for your stay and for your post about Baia Grande.
It is a great pleasure to know that you returned for the second time to Baia Grande. Thank you very much for you comments about ours staff and service.
Please visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

WE booked this hotel even though we do have a home on the Algarve we decided to push the boat out for new year. The hotel is very nice and the staff very helpfull, the food on the night was good and we had no complaints. If you do stay at this hotel there is not much round it but they do put a bus on to get you into town and the beach but a taxi shouldnt be much.

Room Tip: we asked for a sea view and got on which over looked the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your recent visit to Baia Grande and for you post.
I am glad that you enjoyed you short break and passed you New Year’s Eve with us. That is always a special night at Baia Grande.
I hope to see you again at Baia Grande.
Kind regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is the 3rd time that we have visited the Baia Grande and I have to confess that we are in love with this hotel! There is something about its beautiful outside pool area with hammocks, the rather grand Thai style entrance and the big extensive bar area that always draw us back! Other excellent features are a nice big bedroom, a lovely breakfast with lots of choice, very helpful staff and a free shuttle to Albufeira. There are some features on this visit which we did not like though: the bar food tasted ok, but not great, we had to pay to use the safe in the room and we really wanted a double bed, not the twin beds which we were given. Also, one of the features which we love about this area is the option to visit some good restaurants nearby, but going in December meant they were all shut which really limited our options. The local area is beautiful though with some stunning beaches nearby and in the gorgeous December sunshine we could still enjoy them. The Algarve generally seems to be struggling at the moment with visitor numbers down, so it is encouraging to see this hotel is still as lovely as ever, but please Bai Grande keep your standards high: drop the charges on the room safe, improve the quality of the bar food and keep the hotel to its overall excellent standard. We look forward to visiting you again soon!

Room Tip: go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for you visit and for your loyalty to Baia Grande.
We work very hard to keep our standard high and give our clients the best service we can manage.
I am sorry for your experience with the bar food, I will look into this situation. Thank you for your suggestion about the safe. It is always important to have feedback about these issues.
I hope to see you again at Baia Grande
Kind regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Returned to this excellent hotel after a 5 year break. This time we were half board and it was a good decision as most of the bars are closed in late nov. food was very good especially salads and soups. Free transport to old town, marina and gale beach are a great advantage. Reception staff helpful when I lost my wallet.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Client,
On behalf of all our staff thank you very much for your stay and for your post about Baia Grande.
It is a great pleasure to know that you returned after five years and had a wonderful stay with us.
Please visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martock
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Friendly staff made this hotel particularly enjoyable,all the people we meet gave service with a smile. The room was a good size and very clean, we asked to move rooms because of the noise of the entertainment, which was on 3 nights per week, they arrange a change promptly. The breakfasts were good with a large choice, they had different hot items each day. Dinner was a varied choice of buffet, the only dissapointment was the desserts,they hardly varied in 14 nights. the indoor pool was a bit on the cold side, but passable,and at least there was somewher to swim in November. The hotel was out of town about a 45 minute walk; but ther was a minibus at no charge for the trip, also they laid on aminibus to Gale with its large beach and nature reserve.We had a room on the south side overllooking the pool and sea beyond,a lovely view with sun until late evening I would recommend this side in low season but would prefere an east facing seaview in summer. Avoid the rooms near the central stairwell as they are noisy when the entertainment is on in the panio bar.We will deffiatly go there again.

Room Tip: less noise awy from central stairwell seaview worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo D, Manager at Baia Grande, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Client,
On behalf of all our staff thank you very much for your stay at Baia Grande and for your review.
I am happy that we were able to swiftly accommodate your request during you stay
Thank you for your comment about the deserts. I will discuss this situation with our head chef so that we can improve on this detail.
I hope to see you again at Baia Grande.
Kind regards
Paulo Dias
manager.bg@baiaalgarve.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baia Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baia Grande

Address: Rua Joao Guita | Praia da Coelha, Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-385, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Sesmarias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Sesmarias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baia Grande 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Algarve, the Hotel Baía Grande is just 3km from Albufeira and 750mts from the nearest beach. Four star hotel with 131 high quality rooms, spacious areas and gardens, providing an elegant, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Baia Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Grande Albufeira
Baia Grande Hotel Albufeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baia Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.