We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star throughout :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel to your Saves list
Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-613, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sesmarias
West London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Five star throughout :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Awesome location of hotel , approx 40 mins from Faro airport and five mins drive away from the marina , shopping centre , old town and restaurants. Only a few mins walk from a choice of amazing sandy beaches . Rooms are spacious & modern and have a chocolate decor theme with plenty of storage spaces. Outdoors the pool gardens has a path that leads to the beach . The beach is sandy and beautiful and has a restaurant, bar and ice cream stop. Sea food at this restaurant was very delicious , highly recommend the catch of the day!
This hotel has a lovely spa section and the treatments are priced reasonably . Recommend the seaweed wrap and de stress massage!!
Guest relations are super helpful during our 8 days stay . Thank you to Sonia and the team for organizing a birthday surprise for my mum and for handling a emergency health situation so calmly . You guys are fab xx we hope to see you next summer :)

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Guests,

First of all, know that was a pleasure to welcome you at Atlantic Hotel.
We feel really sorry about the health problem and at the same time feel glad to be able to help. At the end, everything was ok, and you had the chance to enjoy a great time in family. A proud for us to make part of that providing you a good service and giving you comfort and great memories!
Thank you so much!

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    203
    86
    23
    14
See reviews for
57
458
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

If you like olive trees, you are in for a treat. This hotel is surrounded by them. Other wise the hotel is gorgeous, staff wonderful, breakfast is good,coffee is hard to get refilled,
A little walking distance to the beach, but beaches are gorgeous, pools are all nice. Food at the pool is also very good, same goes for drinks, even though they are expensive. Rooms are clean and very updated. We even got a late check out

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Guests,

It was a pleasure to read your review, really appreciated.
We work with the primary objective to achieve our guests satisfaction and give them quality and comfort during their stays. We could not feel more happy with your feedback, thank you!
We hope welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were looking for a relaxing, peaceful getaway and that's exactly what we got.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms were modern and clean and the roof terace bar a great place to relax after dinner.

Only downside was that there were a couple of wedding whilst we were there so we could not use the al-le-cart restaurant, a bit of a pain as on one occasion we had been on a boat trip all day and didn't fancy going off site. We didn't want to try the buffet as felt 25 euros a head was a little steep. We felt that, in the height of season, it was a little greedy to have wedding running at the determent of the guests.

Apart from that, fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Natalie,

Thank you for your preference for são Rafael Atlantic Hotel and also for your review.
In order to achieve the satisfaction of our guests, we improve our performance every day and it is with great pride that we work to exceed their expectations. Your comments will also help us in this daily work and we hope to have the chance to welcome you once again.
Best wishes

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, Middlesex
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here from 3rd to 10th July. The lobby in the hotel is huge and very modern and contemporary. We stayed in a garden view double room (238). It was a very big room the double bed was more like a queen size. Walk in shower was amazing and very powerful. Bathroom area was very good, could do with a bit more lighting! The lighting is very low. Wardrobe and storage space was great. Could do with more hangers (thankfully we took our own). Air conditioning worked really well. There is a kettle but only two t-bags and 4 sugars. No milk and no coffee!!. When I asked the next day at reception about milk and coffee I was told I had to ring housekeeping!!! The t-bags were never replenished, this is a five star hotel, these basics should be provided! I went to local supermarket and bought my own.

Pool area and pools are really nice, there are two big round pools and one small round pool for kids. Mosaic tiles in pool are very different, bronze, silver and green. You don't have the usual bright turquoise pool, it's quite dark but looks really good. Very clean. There are toilets and showers. Sunbeds are plentiful but if you come down to pool area after lunch, you may find it hard to find a bed. There are extensive gardens around hotel, lots of palm trees and olive trees. Hotel could put more sunbeds on grass areas or even those big fat boy bean bags, then people wouldn't have problem trying to find somewhere to sit. We saw some people sitting on the grass on their towels! I'm sorry, you shouldn't have to do this in a 5 star hotel. Pool bar was good serving, hamburgers, tapas, wraps, salads and pizzas. Lunch for two cost around 30 euros with drinks.

Spa is beautiful, indoor pool was like a bath, you have to wear hats and they cost 5 euro. Very hot in there but relaxing with big beds to chill on after a swim.

We ate in hotel restaurant buffet one evening, it was very good, lots of choice. Food could be a bit warmer. But there is no atmosphere in there.

Breakfast was amazing from, pastries, meats, cheeses, cooked food, fruit (kiwi and papaya were yummy), tea, coffee, juices etc... Again cooked food could be a little hotter but overall great choice. People said egg lady was rude but we never found it, we just talked to her. All the staff were friendly and helpful. They will order you a cab to wherever at reception. If you talk to them they are absolutely fine, some very funny!

Chill out bar on the roof is very relaxing, we had singers for 2 nights, then TV's were showing world cup matches and Wimbledon final in evening. Nice to sit and have cocktails up there. They also serve food too. It can be a bit windy up there.

We ate out in Albufeira Old Town most nights. Taxi was around 6-8 euros one way. There is a small mini-market about 3/4 mile away, stocks quite a lot of the basics.

There is an electronic back gate through the gardens which takes you to the boardwalk down to the sea/beach. Boardwalk is great, its not steep steps, it's graduated, so found it easy going up and down. Beach is gorgeous, blue flag. Great restaurant/bar there. Sunbeds were 30 euros for two for the day (I thought that was a bit pricey). A lot of people brought their own umbrellas/towels/chairs and sat on beach for free!

Overall we loved this hotel and will definitely be going back. It's a peaceful place. I don't think it's suitable for groups of young people as it's quiet. Suited to couples, young families and older people. It's got beautiful surroundings and is very modern. We loved the place.

Room Tip: Garden view room was quiet, we had palm trees outside and a little fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Guests,

First of all, thank you for choosing são Rafael Atlantic Hotel.
We appreciate all your review and we feel happy to know that you wish to come back, will be a pleasure for us.
We are always looking for improvements and all your words were a great contribute to help us on it.
Best wishes.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is in a great location right next to the marina, and 2 min drive from old town, Zoo Marina was only a 10mintue drive too. Breakfast has a great choice at the buffet, the pool bar was overpriced but everything else has been reasonable. Lovely spa and a great choice of treatments.

Luxurious large bedrooms almost the size of a small apartment, modern design and great friendly service from staff at this hotel.

I fell sick during my stay and guest services were AMAZING! Great customer service!!!

Room Tip: choose a garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Sam,

Thank you for your preference for são Rafael Atlantic hotel.
Provide a good service for our guests and achieve their satisfaction is our priority everyday.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and hope to have the chance to repeat that.


Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Sao Rafael Atlantic hotel for 1 week from the 16th June this year. After about 45 minutes to an hours drive from the airport we arrived at the hotel. When you pull up you will not be disappointed! The entrance and lobby is grand, spacious and gorgoues! After checking in we were shown to our room which was 302. It looked over the pool and pool bar area and was a fabulous room. Everything is modern with a massive double bed and a good size balcony. After settling in we had a wonder around and we were amazed at how gorgoues the hotel and the surroundings were. We took a stroll down to the beach which you must go and see! There is a gorgoues board walk down to the beach and it's stunning both daytime or evening!
There are 3 pools and a pool bar which served brillant food like sandwiches, pizzas, burgers, tapas etc, we ate there every day. There is also an A le Carte restaurant on site where you can eat lunch or dinner and you have a €17.50 credit to spend at that restaurant, we ate there twice and I would reccommend the steak, it was incredible and overlooks the beach! The buffet restaurant was nice and spacious with a good selection of foods. The only down side to this was that the food was not piping hot. The food is hovered on hot water so if you like piping hot food like my boyfriend you may be a little disappointed.
The spa and gym were also incredible! A big selection of exercise machines, weights, exercise balls, mats etc. The indoor pool area is pure relaxation! The lighting, music and the beds around the pool is so well thought out. We paid €10 a couple of times to use the jacuzzi, Turkish baths,sauna and steam room which again was amazing. You do have to purchase a swimming hat for €5 if you want to use the indoor spa!!
The terrace bar is lovely in the evenings, they have entertainment every night and it overlooks the pool and the sea in the distance.
Every inch of the hotel is so clean, the cleaners are very discreet but they are constantly cleaning everywhere throughout they day!
We stayed by the pool all day every day but there is a small shop about a 10 minute walk away from the hotel which is where we went to get water but if you want to travel into town the hotel have their own shuttle bus service which takes you in and picks you up again.
Overall this hotel will not disappoint, if we return to Portugal again in the future we will most definitely be returning to the Sao Rafael and asking for room 302!!!! 5 star all the way!

Room Tip: Rooms from 302 overlook the pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Guests,

What a great description, thank you so much!
We feel so happy to realise that our services and facilities were able to provide you a great time.
Hope to welcome you on your next visit to Algarve with the promisse that we will keep up the good work, always trying to improve in order to give our guests our best!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We loved this hotel the rooms were modern, clean, spacious and comfortable and the rooms where cleaned on a daily basis. The hotel is is a very quiet area however its easy enough to jump on the bus to neighbouring Albufeira - we jumped on the city sightseeing tour bus which was good and was a jump on and off all day.

The hotel was beautiful and had lovely comfortable outside furnature to sit on to read your books or soak up the sun.

I really enjoyed my holiday here and wouldnt think twice about returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui V, Gerente at Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Was so nice to read your review!
We feel very happy to know that you had a good time with us, thank you so much.


Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel

Address: Sesmarias, Albufeira 8200-613, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Sesmarias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sesmarias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel has a spectacular location overlooking the Atlantic sea, direct access to Sao Rafael Beach and only at a short drive to Albufeira centre. The interiors have contemporary design features with space and light throughout. The rooms are modern and have large balconies with views over the sea and gardens. The extensive gardens offer a beautiful mediterranean landscape with olive and palm trees. There is also a state-of-the-art SPA featuring leading wellness therapies and treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sao Rafael Atlantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.