We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay there again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grayson Inn & Suites

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grayson Inn & Suites
Save
You added Grayson Inn & Suites to your Saves list
155 Rainbow Circle Dr., Po Box 1, Independence, VA 24348   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Independence
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Will not stay there again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have stayed at Grayson Inn & Suites a couple of times in the past, mostly because there isn't any other motel in the area. This time was our worst experience and we won't stay there again. The rooms are adequate, but they need a good cleaning (the same dead bug was on the bathroom floor throughout our visit and the coffee maker was too gross to use). You could read a newspaper through the sheets and the mattress really needs to be replaced. There were two of those pop up air fresheners in the room but it still had a funky smell. The WIFI didn't work most of the time, so don't count on having it available. And as I said on a previous review, for the price they charge, it's surprising that there is no breakfast. The only plus is that the front office staff was pleasant. Next time, we'll go to Galax, which is only about 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We have stayed in this Inn three times and won't stay here again. The 30 minute extra commute is worth staying elsewhere.

Why? We can't sleep in a smelly room. They don't enforce the smoking policy so they have to flood the rooms with air freshener/air stinkyfier. And, if you aren't lucky, you will get a smoker in an adjoining room. Every time I complained they said they would take care of it. Well, nothing ever changed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Independence hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Pros- has been somewhat renovated since last visit 8 years ago,
- new hall tiles
- nice front desk, especially in reservatiions
- rooms are clean, not worn out
- king suites have 2 TVs

cons
- no one in office after 11 pm, but key card is needed to enter halls from outside
- noisy plumbing

Room Tip: Back side would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Grayson Inn is just about the only place to stay in Grayson County, now that the Davis-Bourne Inn has closed. :(

We had 4 rooms booked. All of them were relatively clean and quiet, if a little dated, and the beds were comfortable. However, when we arrived, the windows in two of the rooms were open and in one of the other rooms the window was unlocked. Being on the first floor, that didn't make us feel too secure. (So if you get a first floor room, check your window locks!) The other room had a strong smell of cigarette smoke.

Our big complaint was lack of breakfast, given the cost of the room. Of course, being the only place to stay, they don't have to give you breakfast, do they?

On the upside, the front desk staff was pleasant and efficient. We got a good recommendation for a place to eat dinner & breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Western, VA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Foremost, this hotel isn't worth the $65 they charge a night. I've stayed in nicer for less and gotten free breakfast. One of the least comfortable beds I've slept in. Although this hotel is in a quite location, the walls are thin, letting you hear everything going on in the next room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEWISBURG
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed one night at the Grayson Inn. Rates are reasonable but $25.00 for a pet is a little expensive. The place we stayed the night before only charged $10.00. The room and bathroom was clean. The sheets were a bit thin and the carpet should be replaced. It had several stains and burnt places in it. The staff was very nice. I thought we would at least get a continental breakfast but nothing. My husband made coffee in the room but no tea bags for me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were climbing Mt. Rogers in Grayson State Park and there are not a lot of handy hotels around, so we stayed at the Grayson Inn & Suites. It's a typical economy hotel with tube TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, but $75 is too much. We were advised upon arrival that breakfast had been discontinued. We were given keys that didn't work. We were directed to a pizza place for dinner that was just plain bad (not that there are a lot of options in Independence). We were the only car in the parking lot when we turned in (but there were 7 in the morning when we left). This suggests they could have spread their guests around, but...

Nooo, couldn't do that. And, of course, at midnight our neighbor starts blasting his TV. I went to the office, but it's closed 11pm to 7am. I attempted to call TV dude, but the phone face was BLANK with no instructions how to make a call. I took a chance and dialed the room number but got somebody random and woke them up (oops, sorry). I banged on the wall and TV dude reduced his volume by 1/2 but given the paper-thin walls that was only partially helpful.

The capper was the next morning. I asked if I could make a photocopy. "Sure, my colleague will be with you in a while once she's settled in." Um, not like there was a long line of guests, breakfast to look after or, in fact, anything else going on. His colleague emerged and said "Sure, we can make a copy, that'll be $2 for the first page and $.50 per page after that." HUH??

No doubt we were a bit unlucky with all of this, but be forewarned.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grayson Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grayson Inn & Suites

Address: 155 Rainbow Circle Dr., Po Box 1, Independence, VA 24348
Location: United States > Virginia > Independence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Independence
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, quiet rooms,free long distance and local calls within the US internet access, cable tv, indoor corridors, pets allowed on leash. Ask about our AAA,AARP, and CORP rates. Close to Galax Fiddlers Convention, Hillsville Labor Day Flea Market, Blue Ridge Parkway and several other attractions.Grayson-Inn & Suites is located on the Crooked Road Music Trail ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grayson Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.