We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn was the perfect weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vineyards Crossing

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hume
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Vineyards Crossing
Save Saved
You added The Inn at Vineyards Crossing to your Saves list
5024 Leeds Manor Road, Hume, VA 22639   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hume B&B and Inns
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Inn was the perfect weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had an amazing weekend staying at the Inn. Josh was very accomodating and an excellent chef. We loved our room and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The Inn itself was very clean and the breakfast was a great way to start the day. We will definitely be back and reccomend this to others for a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Getting 5 busy wine owners aligned along with 10 wine enthusiasts for a weekend of education, tasting and fine food was great experience and a gastronomical delight. Thanks to Josh and Lauren, Philip Carter, Rappahannock, Desert Rose, Naked Mountain and Barrel Oak wineries, my husband and I now have an even better appreciation for vineyard management, blending and barrel differences and personal experience on how the wine glass can have a big impact on the wine experience. The food was fabulous and plentiful at the inn and the wineries programs. The rooms at the inn were very comfortably furnished and appointed, including wifi. Josh and Lauren were very responsive to making our experience special and providing information about the area. I would definitely recommend a stay for both the location and the experience!

Room Tip: One of the rooms has a Jacuzzi and the 3rd floor room is very private if you don't mind going up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was our first experience staying in a B&B. I would definitely stay here again. We bought a living social package for a two night stay at the Inn of Vineyards Crossing and the Philip Winery tour, tasting and cheese basket. It was a great experience at the Inn. Josh was very accomodating. The inn has some historic charm as well as newly revonated parts of the home as well. One of the main attractions was the king size bed and private bath. In the past we generally stay at hotels for the king size bed and a lot of B&B's have only queen size. It was very clean and quite. The location was close to a number of wineries as well. The breakfast one morning was southern style french toast with bacon from Virginia and fruit. It was wonderful! The second breakfast was a farmer's keish, potato pancakes, fruit, sausage and yummy biscuts. We also had dinner on Saturday night with a wine paring. The dinner was wonderful. Fresh arugula salad on toasted bread with fresh parmesan cheese, lasagna w/ kale, brussel sprouts and toasted garlic bread and a chocolate cake for dessert. We stayed in the Barbee room which had a temperpudic bed and in the corner with 3 windows, digital TV and a nice private bath. Since we stayed in winter we could not use the pool or hottub, but I would be interested in coming for another stay when those are available. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We love the B & B experience. This is a new venture for this Inn.

Let's start with the positives. First, Josh is a fabulous chef, both of our breakfasts were exceptionally good and creative-baked pancake, homemade biscuits, fresh fruit and lots of it. The dinner was outstanding, yummy, delicious. He also uses local as often as is feasible in his meals. 2nd, wine tasting is at 4 pm and he is very knowledgeable about the wines and good pairings. 3rd, the bed was very comfortable and we slept well. 4th, the Inn is nicely kept. We went in the winter and it snowed while we were there, so we can't speak to the outdoor, pool & hot tub etc.

We were booked in the Commonwealth room. From what I can see on line, this is the largest of the rooms. It does not appear to have been re-decorated as well as the other rooms. Here were the issues, 1st, the room is VERY poorly lit. There is only one can light in the main part of the bathroom, no lights above/near the sink and no light in the shower. The lighting in the living room and bedrooms is also inadequate. We could not read from the two bedside lights in bed. 2nd, this room is located in the log and chink historic portion of the house. While there are two accesses to the room, we were to use the original staircase which is a challenge at best to get the bags up to the room. The best part about the room was that it was very private as it is on the other side of the house from the rest of the rooms.
Other than the above issues, we enjoyed our stay here very much. Just to say it again, the food was excellent, the area is just gorgeous and we enjoyed our wine tour at the Phillip Carter Winery. Josh was great and we will be back.

Room Tip: If managing the stairs would prove a real problem select a room other than the Commonwealth Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was an amazing experience, The stay at the Inn was very special, and Chef Josh's breakfast creations were beyond my wildest imagination. Joshua Haugh is not only an exceptional Chef, he is a warm and genuine host and general manager of this beautiful property. Wine tastings at 4:00 P.M. and breakfast at 9: A.M. should not be missed. The rooms are all beautiful, but the original 18th century tavern within the Inn holds a history that will humble you as you lounge and attempt to take it all in. The beds are all King size Sealy pillow tops, on which you will have a wonderful and restful night.

Room Tip: Check out the "Grand Cru" room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Loved our stay at the Inn. Josh was a fantastic host. He cooked two incredible meals (breakfast and dinner), and he was very accomdating to our dietary restrictions. The Inn itself is amazing. Lots of history to the buildings, dating all the way back to the civil war. We loved our room as everything was brand new in it. You can tell that a lot of thought and effort went into decorating and furnishing the Inn. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My lovely girlfriend and I stayed for one night over the Christmas holiday and made reservation at the last second. Josh accommodated my last second request and everything was perfect. It was my first stay at a B&B and was excellent. Josh prepared a wonderful dinner and each course was outstanding, paired with very good local wines, each one good on their own, but made even better with the food pairings. Josh's attention to detail was excellent, and he provided just enough personal attention while still allowing us a nice, romantic dinner and stay. The suite was wonderful with lots of character in the old part of the building. Everything was excellent and we highly recommend it. We plan to go back in the spring/summer when we can take advantage of the outdoor amenities as well. Josh is fantastic!

Room Tip: We liked the Commonwealth Suite in the old part of the building. Lots of room, character, and possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Vineyards Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vineyards Crossing

Address: 5024 Leeds Manor Road, Hume, VA 22639
Location: United States > Virginia > Hume
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hume
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Village of Hume, Fauquier County, just over a mile from Philip Carter Winery, the Inn at Vineyards Crossing invites you to abandon your stress and relish the civility and romance of this exquisite Hume bed and breakfast. Relax in the living room, in the English courtyard, by the pool or in the historic log tavern while you enjoy a glass of Virginia wine, peruse our collection of local restaurant menus and mingle with guests amusing each other with exciting tales of your Virginia wine country adventures and discoveries…The original portion of the Inn dates back to the pre-stage coach days, circa 1787. It sits on the northwest corner of the Village and is a yellow stucco frame building (old log tavern) with a center stone chimney, which was known as Barbee’s tavern. The tavern was in operation during colonial and Civil War times and had a thriving business. The tavern has wide pine flooring, exposed American Chestnut interior logs, and 3 stone fireplaces.Today, the Inn is an intimate and romantic retreat in Virginia wine & hunt country. Each of the Inn’s five rooms offer luxury accommodations including, king sized beds and premier white linen, turn down service. While influenced by American and English design, each room has a unique theme that will make for a welcoming experience during each returning stay.Virginia Rolling HillsThe Inn at Vineyards Crossing offers the very best in wine experiences for the Virginia Piedmont region. In addition to these exceptional excursion experiences, The Inn will feature a Wine Camp for guests with extended (4 days, 3 nights) and abbreviated (2 days, 1 night) options, along with afternoon complimentary wine tastings & tea by the pool or in The Inn’s tavern, and shuttle services for various culinary immersions to local restaurants and vineyards.The Inn’s proximity to the region’s many awarding winning wineries makes it the perfect luxury retreat in America’s wine country ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Vineyards Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.