We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience beyond compare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Vineyards Crossing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn at Vineyards Crossing to your Saves list
The Inn at Vineyards Crossing
5024 Leeds Manor Road, Hume, VA 22639   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hume B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chevy Chase
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An experience beyond compare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I'm not at all surprised that the Inn has received 5 stars across the board--if I could I would give it six! Josh is an amazing innkeeper, and most especially, an incredible cook. I can't even begin to describe how delicious the food was--and if you have an opportunity, book a dinner at the Inn. You will not be disappointed. In addition to the Inn's culinary delights, the location is fantastic too. It's a five minute drive to Philip Carter Winery, where they have a really fun wine tour and tasting. The scenery is beautiful, and even in the winter you will find an excuse to sit outside and drink wine next to the fire pits. I should add that the Inn's rooms are beautiful and clean. There is an extreme attention to detail regarding the entire Inn experience, which I really appreciate. I have no doubt I'll be going again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Milton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This Inn is a dream. Seated in the middle of wine and hunt country, this is a quiet and romantic getaway. Josh, the innkeeper, is so hospitable and is an AMAZING chef. the rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable. We will most definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnette2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I went to the Inn for our 1st Anniversary Weekend and we really enjoyed it. We stayed in the Grand Cru room which was very spacious and had a great whirlpool tub in it complete with bath salts, etc. The bed was also extremely comfortable.

We booked to late to sign up for dinner but the morning breakfast really was delicious. The food was beautifully plated and breakfast was quite large. (If you are not a meat eater call ahead and let them know so they can adjust accordingly.)

We also had fun mingling with the other guests and drinking wine by the fire pit our first night.

Overall we were very glad that we picked the Inn at Vineyards crossing. There are also a lot of wineries on the street leading up to the inn so you dont have to stray far and a lot of good restaurants in the general area. We drove out to Element in Front Royal for dinner one night which was very delicious and the price was very reasonable considering the amount of food we ordered.

Room Tip: The Grand Cru room is very spacious and has a whirlpool tub in addition to the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
592 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were looking for a nice, local getaway to celebrate our anniversary and came across a nice deal to stay at The Inn at Vineyards Crossing. It was refreshing to get such great responses to the questions we emailed them about our upcoming visit, prior to arriving. Making our reservation and picking our room was a breeze as well. They are quick to respond to emails and very informative, as they understand the importance in insuring you're well-informed to make your stay as memorable and pleasant as possible.

The Inn has a chef and sommelier on staff and is partially partnered with Philip Carter Winery, but supports other local vineyards as well. The chef prepares INCREDIBLE daily breakfasts that are sure to satisfy and sufficient enough to allow you to skip lunch. We were truly amazed by the breakfasts Chef Josh prepared! The ingredients are VERY fresh and EVERYTHING is prepared fresh, with local meats, veggies and herbs - "Farm to Fork!"

The Inn and this area of Hume, VA is rich in history, which was exciting to read and learn about. There are areas of the Inn that look just like they might have in Civil War days, when the Inn was used to house injured soldiers.

Their beds are quite nicely stocked with big, fluffy pillows are provided a great rest. The bathroom in the suite we were in was very clean and nicely laid out. The towels were very fresh and replaced as needed.

The Inn offers a pool and hot tub, as well as pool towels to take advantage of these amenities.

Check-in was a breeze and the staff was very willing to show us around, answer questions and offer suggestions to ensure we took full advantage of our stay and enjoyed ourselves. The Inn offers a daily wine tasting (included!) as well as nicely appointed common areas where you can sit, relax and enjoy a book and/or a glass of wine, which they offer for sale as well!

The Inn also provides free Wi-Fi to help keep you "in touch!"

If you are part of a group of 4 or more, ask Chef Josh about his dinner offerings. We can’t wait to stay here again (with friends next time) to take advantage of more of his expertly prepared meals, such as dinner!

We can’t wait to make plans to go back and would HIGHLY recommend this B&B to everyone!

Room Tip: Check out their website and look at all the room options and simply ask... they are pretty accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was an amazing trip. Loved the winery and all the fresh foods! The rooms were so nice and clean. Amazing Scenery! Great service, everyone was so nice. Great service! Amazing wine!!! Will definately come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwood86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is definitely not the typical "grandmother flowery B&B" one can imagine. This is more of a mansion-like luxurious lodging where one enjoys enormously large and cozy rooms, each having its own character with impeccable service. Each corner if the inn is very inviting for exploration and spending some time with good wine or one of the provided games. We have enjoyed Jacuzzi and the pool which lights up in different colors at night and couldn't resist spending some time conversing with other guests at the old part of the inn -- what used to be the old tavern. The beds are extremely comfortable and breakfast prepared by Josh, the Inn's general manager, was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Inn at Vineyards Crossing (I@VC) is not your average B&B. It is fantastically laid out, incorporating the original tavern that has stood there for over 200 years, and extending it into a wonderous residence which feels like a residence, not a small hotel. I@VC thus combines old very competently with new. The decor is the prefect blend of present and past, with flashes of color where you least expect it. All-in-all very pleasing to the eye. The room (Hunter Lodge? Can't remember the name!) was spacious with loads of storage for your clothes, a new, modern bathroom and one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. The other rooms, from what I saw, are possibly bigger, each one with a different theme. i.e. I@VC is not your average B&B.

Then we get to the exterior. A few cosy nooks have been created around the property for evening chit chat. A big swimming pool lies behind the Inn with moodlighting and a connecting hot tub. The lawns are manicured and the flowers are pristine. i.e. I@VC is not your average B&B.

Finally, the Innkeeper. Josh is an amazing one. His warm welcome immediately made us comfortable, and he made it a priority to please us--he had great recommendations on what to do in the area. Breakfast in the morning was top notch. Greek yoghurt with seasonal berries, egg and ham casserole, flash-fried french toast and flash fried country bacon?! Heaven. Josh also pointed out that most of the produce was locally-sourced which was impressive. i.e. I@VC is not your average B&B.

I don't think I have been to a better B&B anywhere in the DMV. I only wish it was open when I got married because this place would have been perfect to house a small wedding party, or family if married in one of the nearby wineries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudhir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hume
12.2 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
19.9 mi away
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
#1 of 1 in Casanova
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
11.6 mi away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#4 of 9 in Front Royal
3.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
12.0 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 10 in Washington
5.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
15.8 mi away
Black Horse Inn
Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Warrenton
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Vineyards Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Vineyards Crossing

Address: 5024 Leeds Manor Road, Hume, VA 22639
Location: United States > Virginia > Hume
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hume
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Village of Hume, Fauquier County, just over a mile from Philip Carter Winery, the Inn at Vineyards Crossing invites you to abandon your stress and relish the civility and romance of this exquisite Hume bed and breakfast. Relax in the living room, in the English courtyard, by the pool or in the historic log tavern while you enjoy a glass of Virginia wine, peruse our collection of local restaurant menus and mingle with guests amusing each other with exciting tales of your Virginia wine country adventures and discoveries…The original portion of the Inn dates back to the pre-stage coach days, circa 1787. It sits on the northwest corner of the Village and is a yellow stucco frame building (old log tavern) with a center stone chimney, which was known as Barbee’s tavern. The tavern was in operation during colonial and Civil War times and had a thriving business. The tavern has wide pine flooring, exposed American Chestnut interior logs, and 3 stone fireplaces.Today, the Inn is an intimate and romantic retreat in Virginia wine & hunt country. Each of the Inn’s five rooms offer luxury accommodations including, king sized beds and premier white linen, turn down service. While influenced by American and English design, each room has a unique theme that will make for a welcoming experience during each returning stay.Virginia Rolling HillsThe Inn at Vineyards Crossing offers the very best in wine experiences for the Virginia Piedmont region. In addition to these exceptional excursion experiences, The Inn will feature a Wine Camp for guests with extended (4 days, 3 nights) and abbreviated (2 days, 1 night) options, along with afternoon complimentary wine tastings & tea by the pool or in The Inn’s tavern, and shuttle services for various culinary immersions to local restaurants and vineyards.The Inn’s proximity to the region’s many awarding winning wineries makes it the perfect luxury retreat in America’s wine country ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Vineyards Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing