We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marriott Ranch Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hume
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Marriott Ranch Bed and Breakfast
5305 Marriott Lane, Hume, VA 22639   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off Week Day
Ranked #2 of 2 Hume B&B and Inns
Celebration
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed here with a friend after purchasing a coupon. We had an overall very enjoyable stay. The property is lovely, and the drive through the area is gorgeous, especially beginning in this fall season. It is a working ranch with cattle all around, and rolling green hills that seem to go for miles.

We came to the hotel in the later morning so couldn't check in. We first came into the house and it didn't seem anyone was there. The woman checking us in was a bit cold and honestly looked perplexed at why were there. She handed us an open envelope, and when we inquired she said she had no idea what was in it. As it turns out, it was the wine tasting certificates and map of the area. I am not sure why she didn't either a) bother to look in it or b) offer to look at it and find out. We later saw this same staff member, and she was warm as could be. Maybe she just was having a bad moment, not quite sure. It wasn't the welcome we anticipated but the rest of the stay was enjoyable with friendly staff.

We had a horseback riding scheduled so we just left stuff in the car and went up the road to the trails. The staff there was nice but not talkative, so there was some awkward silence on the trail ride, although the scenery was breathtaking and the stable was nice.

The room we stayed in was a carriage room, off from the main house. It is cozy and comfortable but you can hear anything louder than soft conversation from your neighbor, so take earplugs or be prepared for that. It is clean and though small, had adequate space and storage for our things. The main house is charming with a dining room, parlour and pantry area with complimentary sodas, water, and snacks.

Breakfast was plated and served at communal tables, just like the wine and cheese in the evening. It was a nice part of the B&B experience. The food was delicious, and they were kind enough to take into account dietary requests the night prior.

Wineries abound in the area and even just driving around proved entertaining. Historical sites such as Manassas, Shenandoah, and many old mills and structures are nearby. We had a sheet of at least 20+ wineries in the area that were within about a 20 mile radius.

Yes, Marriott owns this property as JW Marriott purchased it himself years ago for personal use. However, this isn't your 4-star business accommodation. Previous reviewers have mentioned its 'communal bathroom' (some house rooms share a bathroom, others are private so please inquire) or having to sit together at breakfast. This is a small B&B, and with that come different experiences than a chain hotel. Be prepared to meet your neighbors, relax on the porch in rocking chairs and stare at beautiful landscapes. If that isn't what interests you, there are other places to stay that offer more traditional hotel amenities.

I would not recommend this place for young children, as the walls are thin and there isn't the space needed for them. However, older children (>8yo), couples, friends, or solo travelers would enjoy this location. Only other con is that our beds were quite hard. Combined with two hours of horseback riding we didn't have backs that were very flexible the next day. Other than that, we found this property to be a nice overnight getaway that recharged our batteries and is just an hour outside the city. I would love to visit again in the future when I needed a short break.

Room Tip: Some main house rooms share a bathroom. The carriage house rooms are not sound-proof. Pick your batt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    3
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
17
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Marriott Ranch was a pleasant B&B located near many vineyards. We stayed not in the main house but a small building next to the main house. The room was fine, it was more modern than I expect the rooms in the main house are. The walls were very thin and I heard the neighbors TV until very late. I would recommend ear plugs.

The B&B is very pretty. The common rooms nice. The provide guests with free sodas, water, small snacks, and wine and cheese in the afternoon. The breakfast was average at best. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

These are nice restaurants about 15 minutes drive, as well as many vineyards offering tastings. It did not appear as though there were many activities to do on the grounds but there are many nearby. The best part of our stay was the horseback riding we did at the ranch. The stables are a short drive down the road. Make sure to reserve ahead of time.

Room Tip: I wish we had been able to stay in the main house. I would recommend requesting one of those rooms n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

A great escape from the city to an historic B&B on a real working ranch. There are wineries everywhere! Did I forget to mention two chefs cook breakfast? The ranch also has horseback trail rides every day but monday.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This accommodation/venue/Inn has 10 rooms that were built in the late 1800s...

The rooms are cute, but no individual temp. controls and you can hear everyone in the other rooms... yes... you hear it all. There was also a communal bathroom down the hall for some of the rooms...OMG!

Staff was RUDE and only got rudder...

Got nasty looks when I asked questions.

It was a waste of money to be paid to be treated so badly, and the food was horrible that was offered in the morning. They forced us to sit together, which no one at the Inn wanted to do... we all ended up joking about it, but I felt at the end like I was at Norman Bates Hotel... what was next! LOL!

Try anything else... but dont expect Marriott Hospitality or anywhere near it. JW is probably turning over in his grave.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We found this fabulous property to be steeped in Marriott family history, as well as those of the Marshall and Yates families. While we did not stay in the main house, but in the Fairfield suite, we found the rooms and beds to be very comfortable, and the air conditioning first rate (if you've ever been stuck in a room with a awful A/C, you'll know what I mean!) The large flat screen TV and Dish Network satellite entertained the girls at night and the main house was accessible to guests 24 hours a day. The featured wine and cheese reception every day is a welcome opportunity to visit, and the butler's pantry is open all day/night as well with an assortment of complimentary soft drinks, water and snacks.

The breakfast service is first-rate featuring a "chef's choice" entree with fresh fruits, juices, coffee AND a selection of fresh baked pastries. An absolutely delicious and welcome start to the day.

This is a working ranch. Cattle roam freely and, more than once, we had to stop the car to let cattle cross the road in front of us. The house is located some 500 to 600 meters from the road, on a hill that overlooks grazing pastures in every direction. It's private, quiet and welcoming. What a great way to spend the weekend!

Local pubs are available just a few miles from the property as are a number of awesome Virginia wineries!

Our stay was a relaxing respite from the bustle and tumble of D.C. and the surrounding area. We will definitely find our way back to the the Marriott Ranch!

Since this is a review, I'll add one single, minor suggestion:

1. Morning coffee service starts at about 7:30 AM. For those who are habitually early risers, having coffee is always a plus. Perhaps consider an earlier coffee service, or (better yet) a Keurig coffee maker in the butlers pantry?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Marriott Ranch B&B in Hume Virginia is a historic property which dates back to the early 1800's and it was purchased by the Marriott family in 1951. It is well located for the local winery tours and historic sites. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The staff was very helpful. Included in the price was a wine and cheese hour at 4 pm and a wonderful breakfast in the a.m. The pantry is stocked with snacks and drinks, and it is open 24hr a day. The property itself is lovely. I would recommend this B&B highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My mom and I stayed here for two nights. We had a fabulous time! The staff was extremely friendly, breakfast was amazing, rooms were clean and comfortable...absolutely no complaints about this place. I can't say enough nice things about it. It's a great escape with great wineries in the area and only about 45 minutes from Shenandoah National Park. There's also horseback riding on the ranch, which I did on a separate day trip the year before staying here. I recommend it as a weekend getaway to everyone I know. Looking forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Marriott Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marriott Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
The Marriott Ranch b&b
The Marriott Ranch Hotel Hume
The Marriott Ranch Hotel
Marriott Hume
Hume Marriott
Address: 5305 Marriott Lane, Hume, VA 22639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hume
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hume
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4200 Acre Working Cattle Ranch nestled in the foothills of The Blue Ridge Mountains. Located in the heart of Virginia Wine Country. Guests can enjoy horseback riding, wine tasting at local and vineyards, antique shopping and nearby Shenandoah National Park. Marriott Ranch hosts Corporate Retreats, Weddings, Company Picnics and Social Events. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marriott Ranch Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Marriott Ranch Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list