We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst place to stay on SML” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mariners Landing Golf and Lake Community

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huddleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mariners Landing Golf and Lake Community
Save
You added Mariners Landing Golf and Lake Community to your Saves list
1217 Graves Harbor Trail, Huddleston, VA 24104   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huddleston
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worst place to stay on SML”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

as noted before, no service, rude front desk people, waited 20 minutes while they talked with each other..

we left after one night...there for a rest, but there was a wedding with a bunch of underage drinkers partying all night. Call the front desk and no help- any hour!
Room was filthy, cleaning service hired by ML was horrible and hallways were filthy!
Poor management and poor info out there..do not bother unless you need a party place.
also no spa as they advertise, really false advertising...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

There are so many listings on the internet search and they are all confusing: is it a golf club, is it a condo place own/or lease, restaurant seems to have disappeared... we were trying to have dinner there but it's essentially closed down. Chamber of Commerce or someone needs to clean up internet links. Looking elsewhere and obviously not recommending a search map to see what's there. Need a phone number which is answered.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank CTYankee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The condo we stayed in had two queen beds, large kitchenette and two bathrooms. The living room had plenty of space but the sleeper sofa was a love seat size and there were not many other comfortable places to sit. We had children with us and the balcony windows can be closed and locked shut for complete safety, they were also not hard to open either. The on site pool is nice and hot tub is large also a kiddie pool with mushroom shower thing in the middle is fun for little ones. The slip for the rented pontoon boat is free as long as it was not parked there overnight. You do need a Hotel key to get into pool areas and only two keys made planing things difficult although we did not ask about getting more. In total for a Friday check in Monday check out was around 600$ which we thought reasonable. Also the place was quiet everyone was friendly and it was a nice place to stay if crowds are not your thing. Staff was nice and Free movies are available at the desk. Parrot Cove was a good Pontoon boat rental place 160$ an 8 to 5 day fee Fuel is added at the end. Its 40 minutes by water back to the condo from there. Take a map and a plastic bag to put in, the lake is huge and as our husbands found our rain ruins maps. MOST AMAZING VIEWS FROM THE ROOM !!!! Free small game room in basement is fun during rain as well. No quarters necessary.

Room Tip: 228 middle building all the way to the left is pretty nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

These condos are very clean with great kitchens & supplies for preparing all meals. Each unit has a balcony with a gorgeous view & are big enough to put a queen size blow-up mattress on:) there is a nice swimming pool, a great beach & swimming area, kayak rentals, & much more. The kids absolutely loved it here. We rented a boat at Bridgewater Marina w/ a tube & were able to dock the boat at the complex for a nominal fee. The price is cheaper if you book for longer. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelylisa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flagtown, nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family & I stayed @ Mariner's Landing last week. We had a 3 bdrm, 2.5 bath condo. The view of the lake was amazing. Unit was very clean & had every supply we could need. The pool was great & was never crowded. Having our own private beach was perfect w/ the ability to take out provided kayaks whenever we wanted. Everyone was very friendly & helpful w/ anything that you needed. Met so many wonderful people there. Have already talked about our next trip to SML & will def be staying @ Mariner's Landing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed at Mariners a few times. Had a 1 bed room that was clean and bed was pretty comfortable. They have a boat dock in the rear of the building and a pool that was very nice. There is a small swim area in the lake, we did not use. Restaurant was not open and there is not much near for eating out. Overall great place to stay especially with a boat!

Room Tip: Boat slip was $12 a day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently stayed at Mariners Landing for a conference in a three bedroom condo. The view and atmosphere were both lovely. Our condo was large, clean and well equipped, however I will add that our carpet was filthy. I was shocked that the owners/management would allow this unit to be rented out in this condition. The food at the conference was catered by the ladies which I believe own the restaurant at the ML property and it was amazing! I would stay at the property again but not the same unit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoVaFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddleston
7.4 mi away
Halesford Harbour Inn
Halesford Harbour Inn
#1 of 1 in Moneta
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
18.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Smith Mountain Lake
17.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rocky Mount/Smith Mtn Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Landing Golf and Lake Community? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Landing Golf and Lake Community

Address: 1217 Graves Harbor Trail, Huddleston, VA 24104
Location: United States > Virginia > Huddleston
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huddleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 150
Also Known As:
Mariners Landing Golf And Lake Community Hotel Huddleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing