We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vine Cottage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vine Cottage Inn
Save
You added Vine Cottage Inn to your Saves list
7402 Sam Snead Hwy, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hot Springs B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
“Being home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Jo and Jonah, the owners, make sure that every part of your stay is excellent. From the scrumptious breakfast to the tidy and delightful room to the beautifully flowered front porch to the sharing of stories with Jo and Jonah, Vine Cottage Inn is the perfect get away for relaxation and rest. They treat you as part of their family, with every creature comfort and ensuring peaceful atmosphere. The room was cool and comfy for quiet, easy sleeping. I play annually in a golf tournament at the Homestead Old Course and will always stay at their Inn. The Inn is a great place for families and couples and solo travlers to headquarter from and visit the surrounding area. I highly recommend Vine Cottage Inn and Jo and Jonah, the owners---a wonderful place to stay..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
35
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

“Clean, good rate (excellent breakfasts included), quiet, free internet, nice staff”
Our group- 3 couples (one from Canada)- enjoyed an excellent stay at the Vine Cottage Inn, 5 nights, in the second week of July, 2012. My wife and I stayed in a room with a king bed and private bath. The room was very clean and comfortable. Jo and Jonah served amazingly good breakfasts (every morning something different and tasty) in a gorgeous dining room on the first floor of the Inn. Outside are nice, very well “appointed” porches - place for our evening gatherings.
Free wireless internet is available but the signal strength isn't great everywhere in the Inn, and cell service is spotty because you're in a valley between two mountain ranges.
The Inn is clean and has beautiful antiques and pictures throughout the building. It is within walking distance from The Homestead Resort, grounds of which we were using for our morning brisk walks.
The Inn is about 10 minutes drive from Jefferson Baths where you can soak in the natural 7' deep hot spring with its crystal clear, dark blue waters, in a historic 18th century barn-like enclosure, same as when Thomas Jefferson was “taking the waters” there. There is not much in the area for shopping but plenty of scenic drives. We used the Inn as a hub to take day trips around the area. Jonah knows the region very well and helped us plan perfect day trips. The Goshen Pass was spectacular, as were the “Sky Line Drive”, Luray Caverns, Natural Bridge Park, and charming Staunton. Beautiful area to drive through, gorgeous mountain views everywhere you go. If you like views, nature & history and have a photocamera, this is a charming, relaxing place.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms can be a chalenge for older people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This was our second stay at the Vine Cottage Inn, the first time was in February 2009. Both times our experiences were top notch. The location is great, just up the hill from the Homestead Resort and the town of Hot Springs, within walking distance. Although over 100 years old, the Inn is beautifully maintained and furnished. There are plenty of common areas, including the big front porch, warm inviting living room with fireplace, and the dining room which is where breakfast is served. There is also a little kitchen are with complimentary beverages and snacks, as well as glassware, plates and utensils for guest use. Upon arrival we were greeted by Jo, who knew we were coming and had remembered us from our last stay 3 years earlier. Jonah later checked us in, and also remembered us. They know the local businesses and were very helpful in helping us get reservations for dinner as well as possessing a vast knowledge of local attractions and help in planning our adventures. Our room, (#11 the "Duck" room) was beautiful, with a nice king size bed, very comfortable. It had an attached bathroom with old style stand alone tub which has had a shower added to it since the last time we visited. There are also arm chairs in the room perfect for relaxing. Breakfast was delightful as well. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Use the website, you can see pictures of the rooms and pick the one that meets your needs. Some are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed at this bed and breakfast one weekend in August 2011. The Inn is very clean and has beautiful antiques throughout the building. It is within walking distance from The Homestead Resort. The breakfasts were excellent. Jonah knows the region very well and helped us plan perfect day trips. The Inn is about 10 minutes drive from Jefferson Baths.
Overall it was a great experience and we will back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Our group enjoyed an excellent stay at the Vine Cottage Inn, two nights over the weekend of October 21, 2011. My wife and I enjoyed a room with a king bed and private bath. The room was very clean; the bed was very comfortable. Jo and Jonah served excellent breakfasts. They also prepared an excellent dinner for us on Friday evening - tossed green salad, roast beef, fried chicken, mashed potatoes, mixed vegetables, hot biscuits, and the best bread pudding we've ever tasted. This convenience saved us from having to go out for dinner on one night of our stay. The other night we walked to dining in Hot Springs, just down the hill. (The Homestead is one block away.)

Jo and Jonah are also have a wealth of knowledge about the area. On Saturday afternoon we visited the Jefferson Pools, five miles away in Warm Springs. Very relaxing.

We enjoyed our visit to Hot Springs and especially our visit to the Vine Cottage Inn. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty climbing stairs say so when booking a room. Some rooms are located on the th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Very warm and cozy place to stay. The owners make you feel right at home. We arranged ahead of time to have dinner our first night and I am so glad we did. The dinner was incredible and their breakfast is very delicious. Jonah even took time with us to plot a route for a day trip on our motorcycles. If I ever find myself back in these parts, I will choose this place to rest my eyes.

Room Tip: If they say "bath", they mean "bath". There are "showers", but they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We spent three nights at the Vine Cottage Inn (10/7 - 10/10) and had a very good stay. Jo and Jonah are great innkeepers. They were always available to answer any questions such as directions, historical sites, restaurants, and general questions abount the Homestead. The Homestead is located within a 5 minute walk from the Vine Cottage. We enjoyed the ammenities of the Homestead; however, at a fraction of the cost of lodging at the Homestead. Jonah would call for a Homestead shuttle any time we wanted to go to the Homestead. The breakfasts were great. The B&B was very comfortable and we met other guests that were good company. We highly recommend the establishment to any one visiting the area.

Room Tip: We occupied room 10 and it was very roomy & comfortable. Even though it did not have a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vine Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine Cottage Inn

Address: 7402 Sam Snead Hwy, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vine Cottage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.