We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, good food and great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jefferson Restaurant

Jefferson Restaurant
Omni Homestead, Hot Springs, VA
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice view, good food and great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We went to visit the Jefferson Pools and always wanted to check out the Homestead Hotel so we stopped here for lunch. Parking was a little difficult but the walk from parking below was very pleasant. The restaurant was very nice, service and food were both great. We enjoyed a table with a nice view of the property. We walked around the hotel a little because we had considered staying a weekend but once you get past the lobby, the shops and restaurants the hotel is in bad shape. Wallpaper peeling off, stains on carpets, layers of paint on top of paint chipping off because it was never properly stripped, very outdated, this hotel is not properly maintained and in need of a lot of work. We decided against a weekend visit but enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    28
    13
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Mixed Experience at Expensive Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our experience at the Jefferson Room was mixed, which made it difficult to rate. The best part was my filet mignon dinner, which was simply outstanding. The steak was so tender and flavorful surpassing most fine steakhouse experiences. However, my wife's beef brisket dinner was a disappointment with two pieces of almost entirely fatty meat mixed with one good piece.

The salads and soups were fresh, and the side dishes were average. The vegetables were cooked just right, which cannot often be found in restaurants. The baked Alaska dessert for two was ridiculously big and over the top with large amounts of marmalade completely drowning the homemade ice cream on the inside. It was our first and last experience with a baked Alaska dessert.

The young waiter was polite, but seemed to be new and shy. He checked on us sparadically, but would disappear for long periods of time. We are not experienced wine drinkers, and he seemed to struggle in helping us make a selection. We ended up going with our own choices based on our limited knowledge.

The atmosphere is semi-casual with a large window overlooking the open lawn area and hillsides.

The prices were expensive, which we are willing to accept if the meal experience matches. While there were good aspects, we did not feel the entire experience measured up to the value paid.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeling
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Too Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The food was good, but $8.50 for a bottle of San Pellegrino was a bit steep. While my swordfish was good, if was not worth $32, nor was my husband's half a chicken worth $28. We raise chickens; we must have a goldmine if each one of them is worth $56. We have put our chickens on notice. The white chocolate cheesecake on a blueberry compote, however, was delicious. In the future, I will enjoy the spa at the Homestead and find somewhere else to dine.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“TJ Would Be Proud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

A large selection of grilled steaks and chops, along with seafood and small plates. Gorgeous views from floor-to-ceiling windows and a welcoming lounge area with comfy seating and fireplaces. Food and service were excellent!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best food at the Homestead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a great restaurant that was opened during the KSL ownership of The Homestead. Envisioned as a farm to table restaurant, the Omni has done away with the local, fresh idea, and instead redesigned it as a very good modern hip restaurant. But don't expect to 'know your farmer'. This is the same stock ingredients you get at every restaurant in the hotel. But they are prepared on smaller scale and with better care.
Duck Empenadas as a starter were great, as is the crab bisque. Entrees - the swordfish is average, but the bed of rice on which is sits is amazing.
Take your own wine and pay a $25 corkage. Beats the list they have any day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jefferson Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jefferson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jefferson Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.