We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aptly named Garth Newell, the Good Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garth Newel Music Center

Garth Newel Music Center
403 Garth Newel Lane, Hot Springs, VA 24445
+(1)540-839-5018
Website
Update attraction details
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: At the Garth Newel Music Center in Hot Springs, VA, music is the key that unlocks a world of experience. From classical to jazz and more, inspired music-making is just the beginning. Shared gourmet meals, the exquisite Bath County setting, and musical performances of the highest caliber are hallmarks of the Music Center.
RICHMOND
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Aptly named Garth Newell, the Good Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We traveled to Bath County, VA, in July for the Jazz and Blues Festival at Garth Newell Music Center. This has got to be one of the most beautiful places on earth, the county, that is, with its hills, mountains and rushing brooks. The music center itself is also a wonderful facility, a former horse training barn. We've seen Rene Marie in concert probably 15 or 16 times, but this was by far my favorite. The warm, wooden facility is intimae and friendly with great accoustics, and Rene was right there among us. The prices are quite reasonable for classical and jazz, including the "house band," the Garth Newell .

The site also offers a gourmet restaurant and allows picnicking on the grounds. Despite it remote location and largely undeveloped areas, the county has a host of superb restaurants. The Warm Springs Inn is one example of superb food in a warm, windowed dining room.

If you go at certain times, be sure to take in the sheepdog trials.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous Music in the Allegheny Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Garth Newel Music Center is a fabulous destination for classical chamber music, as well as jazz and blues, performed by world-class musicians. Located on the side of a mountain, the setting is gorgeous. Concerts are held in an intimate, rustic, former horse-training barn with outstanding acoustics. Optional gourmet dinners or picnics follow 60+ performances each year (ticket and meal prices are extremely inexpensive). We have been attending concerts here for many years and can confirm that once you experience music at Garth Newel you will be hooked on it and want to return again and again! We have attended eight concerts during the 2013 Summer Festival alone and will add to that number in October, Thanksgiving, New Year's and next spring.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Jazz and Blues Festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have been attending the Jazz and Blues Festival for several years. The music is fabulous. This year, the Carolina Chocolate Drops, were the main feature. The setting is fantastic. You sit outside in an amphitheatre setting. Food is provided by the Center and is always spectacular. We also attended the Friday night part and the singer was Renne Marie who was wonderful. We look forward to this every year and plan vacations around it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great place to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been to Garth Newel several times. If you're into music, beautiful scenery, great hospitality, great food and fun, it's the place for you. I have been there with my musician clients who are performing. It's so much fun to stay in the guest house with all the guest. I've met some wonderful people there. At night you can sit by the fire in the living room, during the day, you can go hiking, and travel around the area. And, the music is always top notch. The rooms are always clean, comfortable, and just lovely. It's such a comfortable place. I can't say enough good things about it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garth Newel Music Center also viewed

 

Been to Garth Newel Music Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garth Newel Music Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.