We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good and fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Snead's Tavern

Sam Snead's Tavern
Homestead Resort, 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
+1 800-838-1766
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Armenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This gastro-tavern blends modern techniques with traditional recipes while providing house-made comfort dishes qith a quality approach.Selections include Tavern Slammers, chicken pot pies, sauteed Allegheny Mountain trout, Sam's selection of grilled steaks and fun desserts such as our famed cinnamon doughnut bread pudding and apple cobblers. Wash it all down with a vast menu of wines and regional brews that complement savory dinners and a unique setting in the village of Hot Springs. Enjoy viewing the pictures recapping the life of the late legendary golfer, Sam Snead. Sam Snead was born here in Hot Springs and always made it his home. Sam's professional career spanned nearly seven decades, and he amassed at least 185 tournament victories, more than any other player in the history of the PGA Tour.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Consistently good and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have been here a number of times. Nice atmosphere and a good varied pub grub menu.

The memorobilia from Sam Snead's collection displayed throughout the pub is really amazing---lot's of pictures with Presidents and notables--take time to grab a pint and walk around.

Not inexpensive, but a great alternative to the more expensive options at the hotel--Homestead. Burgers, Chicken Pot Pie are great, but they also have Fish and Chips and Meat loaf on the menu.

Enjoy

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    62
    48
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere, average food, expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We wanted a casual spot to take our young kids to dine. Sam Snead's was recommended. We had a pleasant experience- had a very nice server- but for the price of the food, we expected a little higher quality. If you're going to charge $25 for fish and chips, it had better be something pretty spectacular...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginny, USandA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Excellent Tavern Meal on the Homestead Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This location is a departure from the larger and somewhat stuffier eating opportunities up the hill at the Homestead, although this is a Homestead restaurant (you can charge to your room). We sat on the ground floor, right next to the bar, near the large gas fireplace. It was a bit tight, not too crowded, but not the spacious dining experience you get up the hill in the Big House.

My son and I had burgers, daughter the fish and chips and wife something else, and all were good. Service was very friendly and attentive, and when our meal was a bit slow, she took 20% off the bill without even the hint of a problem. I can't remember the last time I was afforded that kind of treatment in any kind of restaurant. Dessert was good, as were the appetizers.

As with any Homestead eatery, get a reservation before you arrive, as they fill up fast, especially during peak holiday periods.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, KY
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quaint Tavern Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you are staying at the Homestead, I recommend walking over to Sam Snead's for a great experience. Ask to sit by the fireplace as we did and take time to look at the memorabilia along the walls. Begin with the Pimms cocktail. The pub fare was fun and adequately prepared. I had the chicken pot pie which I enjoyed and our table shared a variety of desserts. Overall, a terrific evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Cute tavern for golf lovers' memorabilia. Very nice waitress, Kelly; however, the food was disappointing. Fish and chips were very bland and greasy, and the dollop of coleslaw was terrible unless you like horseradish and raisins. The bleu cheese stuffed meatloaf should have been named nutmeg meatloaf as that is all I could taste. Where was the bleu cheese? We really wanted to like this restaurant, but we did notice a lot of food left on patrons' plates.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Snead's Tavern also viewed

Hot Springs, VA
 

Been to Sam Snead's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Snead's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.