We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool atmosphere, average food, expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Snead's Tavern

Sam Snead's Tavern
Homestead Resort, 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
(800) 838-1766
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Armenian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere, average food, expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We wanted a casual spot to take our young kids to dine. Sam Snead's was recommended. We had a pleasant experience- had a very nice server- but for the price of the food, we expected a little higher quality. If you're going to charge $25 for fish and chips, it had better be something pretty spectacular...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    58
    47
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginny, USandA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Excellent Tavern Meal on the Homestead Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This location is a departure from the larger and somewhat stuffier eating opportunities up the hill at the Homestead, although this is a Homestead restaurant (you can charge to your room). We sat on the ground floor, right next to the bar, near the large gas fireplace. It was a bit tight, not too crowded, but not the spacious dining experience you get up the hill in the Big House.

My son and I had burgers, daughter the fish and chips and wife something else, and all were good. Service was very friendly and attentive, and when our meal was a bit slow, she took 20% off the bill without even the hint of a problem. I can't remember the last time I was afforded that kind of treatment in any kind of restaurant. Dessert was good, as were the appetizers.

As with any Homestead eatery, get a reservation before you arrive, as they fill up fast, especially during peak holiday periods.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, KY
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Quaint Tavern Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you are staying at the Homestead, I recommend walking over to Sam Snead's for a great experience. Ask to sit by the fireplace as we did and take time to look at the memorabilia along the walls. Begin with the Pimms cocktail. The pub fare was fun and adequately prepared. I had the chicken pot pie which I enjoyed and our table shared a variety of desserts. Overall, a terrific evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Cute tavern for golf lovers' memorabilia. Very nice waitress, Kelly; however, the food was disappointing. Fish and chips were very bland and greasy, and the dollop of coleslaw was terrible unless you like horseradish and raisins. The bleu cheese stuffed meatloaf should have been named nutmeg meatloaf as that is all I could taste. Where was the bleu cheese? We really wanted to like this restaurant, but we did notice a lot of food left on patrons' plates.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“SO YUMMY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I loved this restaurant! They service was great and we felt at home! I loved all the old artifacts on the walls. The blue cheese meatloaf if TO DIE FOR. It was very yummy and worth EVERY calorie! I also enjoyed the salmon another night I went there. This is a very fun and well run place!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Snead's Tavern also viewed

Hot Springs, VA
 

Been to Sam Snead's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Snead's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.