We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Snead's Tavern

Sam Snead's Tavern
Homestead Resort, 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
(800) 838-1766
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Armenian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Richmond, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Cute tavern for golf lovers' memorabilia. Very nice waitress, Kelly; however, the food was disappointing. Fish and chips were very bland and greasy, and the dollop of coleslaw was terrible unless you like horseradish and raisins. The bleu cheese stuffed meatloaf should have been named nutmeg meatloaf as that is all I could taste. Where was the bleu cheese? We really wanted to like this restaurant, but we did notice a lot of food left on patrons' plates.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    51
    37
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“SO YUMMY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I loved this restaurant! They service was great and we felt at home! I loved all the old artifacts on the walls. The blue cheese meatloaf if TO DIE FOR. It was very yummy and worth EVERY calorie! I also enjoyed the salmon another night I went there. This is a very fun and well run place!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bring layers of clothing or ask to sit in the room with the fireplace.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Planned our family christmas dinner way in advance and we were sat at a table next to the front door.

We ate our American pub faire (not Armenian as noted in trip advisor) literally with hats, coats, scarf and gloves.

I asked if we could move to the open tables near the fireplace in the back of the tavern and was told its cold everyplace since there is a stream under the location....

When I walked back to the room with the fireplace jackets and layers were not needed.

Food was ok pub food...although they missed our appetizer...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Go for the Pimms cocktail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Average tavern affiliated with the Homestead in Hot Springs, Va. The food was pretty average and somewhat overpriced. However, the Pimms cocktail was delish.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good meal and enjoyed our waitress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had dinner here during a recent trip to Hot Springs for a meeting. The trout was quite tasty and well prepared. All of us commented on how good our meals were. Our party of four split the bread pudding and it was yummy as well. The tavern is cozy and was a good place to get in out of the cold in December. What really made it special was that our waitress went out of her way to make sure we had what we needed. She was personable and always smiling. We enjoyed her company and service as much as the meal!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Snead's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Sam Snead's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Snead's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.