We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Pimms cocktail” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Snead's Tavern

Sam Snead's Tavern
Homestead Resort, 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
+1 800-838-1766
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This gastro-tavern blends modern techniques with traditional recipes while providing house-made comfort dishes qith a quality approach.Selections include Tavern Slammers, chicken pot pies, sauteed Allegheny Mountain trout, Sam's selection of grilled steaks and fun desserts such as our famed cinnamon doughnut bread pudding and apple cobblers. Wash it all down with a vast menu of wines and regional brews that complement savory dinners and a unique setting in the village of Hot Springs. Enjoy viewing the pictures recapping the life of the late legendary golfer, Sam Snead. Sam Snead was born here in Hot Springs and always made it his home. Sam's professional career spanned nearly seven decades, and he amassed at least 185 tournament victories, more than any other player in the history of the PGA Tour.
maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go for the Pimms cocktail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Average tavern affiliated with the Homestead in Hot Springs, Va. The food was pretty average and somewhat overpriced. However, the Pimms cocktail was delish.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank natinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good meal and enjoyed our waitress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had dinner here during a recent trip to Hot Springs for a meeting. The trout was quite tasty and well prepared. All of us commented on how good our meals were. Our party of four split the bread pudding and it was yummy as well. The tavern is cozy and was a good place to get in out of the cold in December. What really made it special was that our waitress went out of her way to make sure we had what we needed. She was personable and always smiling. We enjoyed her company and service as much as the meal!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OhioLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Bar food~ Loved the Cosy Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stopped by for a glass of wine and a nibble. Not a full dinner~We ate at the bar. The food was fine (apps and a salad) but, I loved the warm fire-side environment. Especially, when it is cold outside. A bit pricy (it is part of the Homestead). I noted one reviewer said there were no kids, well the evening we were there, there were families with children as well as all adult parties.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roswatki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Better in a group”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were staying at homestead and wanted to get out. The inn seemed the obvious choice. The place was very busy, mainly groups of golf ears and others from the homestead, I would guess. Our server was disinterested and although nothing was wrong we left knowing we were not in hurry to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice little pub that's part of the Homestead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was a great place to get away from the screaming kids and soccer moms clogging up the lobby of the hotel. Quiet bar, decent pub food, and no kids......

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rossvesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Snead's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Sam Snead's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing