We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bar food~ Loved the Cosy Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Snead's Tavern

Sam Snead's Tavern
Homestead Resort, 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
+1 800-838-1766
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Armenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: This gastro-tavern blends modern techniques with traditional recipes while providing house-made comfort dishes qith a quality approach.Selections include Tavern Slammers, chicken pot pies, sauteed Allegheny Mountain trout, Sam's selection of grilled steaks and fun desserts such as our famed cinnamon doughnut bread pudding and apple cobblers. Wash it all down with a vast menu of wines and regional brews that complement savory dinners and a unique setting in the village of Hot Springs. Enjoy viewing the pictures recapping the life of the late legendary golfer, Sam Snead. Sam Snead was born here in Hot Springs and always made it his home. Sam's professional career spanned nearly seven decades, and he amassed at least 185 tournament victories, more than any other player in the history of the PGA Tour.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good Bar food~ Loved the Cosy Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stopped by for a glass of wine and a nibble. Not a full dinner~We ate at the bar. The food was fine (apps and a salad) but, I loved the warm fire-side environment. Especially, when it is cold outside. A bit pricy (it is part of the Homestead). I noted one reviewer said there were no kids, well the evening we were there, there were families with children as well as all adult parties.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    61
    47
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Better in a group”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were staying at homestead and wanted to get out. The inn seemed the obvious choice. The place was very busy, mainly groups of golf ears and others from the homestead, I would guess. Our server was disinterested and although nothing was wrong we left knowing we were not in hurry to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Nice little pub that's part of the Homestead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was a great place to get away from the screaming kids and soccer moms clogging up the lobby of the hotel. Quiet bar, decent pub food, and no kids......

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“So friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We dined at Sam Snead's Tavern one evening during a recent visit to The Homestead. I don't think I have ever been to a restaurant before whose staff was friendlier or more accommodating. The head waiter and our server both made a point of telling us from the start that, if we had any special requests, they would be more than happy to accommodate them. The food was great, and the ambiance was warm and cozy. We loved it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

An adjunct to the Homestead in that its a short walk from the resort and worth the walk. We had an excellent meal served by a very talented server who knew how to smile and keep a smile in her voice. The burgers were first rate and the entire meal was well above average. Just what we expected for a place with such a venerable name.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Snead's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Sam Snead's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Snead's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.