We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little pub that's part of the Homestead” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Snead's Tavern

Sam Snead's Tavern
Homestead Resort, 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
+1 800-838-1766
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This gastro-tavern blends modern techniques with traditional recipes while providing house-made comfort dishes qith a quality approach.Selections include Tavern Slammers, chicken pot pies, sauteed Allegheny Mountain trout, Sam's selection of grilled steaks and fun desserts such as our famed cinnamon doughnut bread pudding and apple cobblers. Wash it all down with a vast menu of wines and regional brews that complement savory dinners and a unique setting in the village of Hot Springs. Enjoy viewing the pictures recapping the life of the late legendary golfer, Sam Snead. Sam Snead was born here in Hot Springs and always made it his home. Sam's professional career spanned nearly seven decades, and he amassed at least 185 tournament victories, more than any other player in the history of the PGA Tour.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice little pub that's part of the Homestead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was a great place to get away from the screaming kids and soccer moms clogging up the lobby of the hotel. Quiet bar, decent pub food, and no kids......

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    75
    60
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“So friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We dined at Sam Snead's Tavern one evening during a recent visit to The Homestead. I don't think I have ever been to a restaurant before whose staff was friendlier or more accommodating. The head waiter and our server both made a point of telling us from the start that, if we had any special requests, they would be more than happy to accommodate them. The food was great, and the ambiance was warm and cozy. We loved it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
209 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

An adjunct to the Homestead in that its a short walk from the resort and worth the walk. We had an excellent meal served by a very talented server who knew how to smile and keep a smile in her voice. The burgers were first rate and the entire meal was well above average. Just what we expected for a place with such a venerable name.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Mike husband and I did not have reservations so we sat at the bar. The service was a humiliating experience, we will leave it at that. I had the trout and a salad which was delicious. Yes, it was overpriced but that was not a surprise as it is part of the Homestead. I would like to go back again with reservations.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting pub - good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Ate her on our first night at the Homestead. Trying to service better than average food in a pub setting. Service and atmosphere were OK, but not special. The food was pretty good - I had a very good Parmesan crusted trout but it was also not cheap. Overall - we had a good experience, but weren't dying to go back. Recommend checking out the Waterwheel in Warm Springs instead

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Snead's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Sam Snead's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Snead's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.