We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little pub that's part of the Homestead” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Snead's Tavern

Sam Snead's Tavern
Homestead Resort, 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
(800) 838-1766
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Armenian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice little pub that's part of the Homestead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was a great place to get away from the screaming kids and soccer moms clogging up the lobby of the hotel. Quiet bar, decent pub food, and no kids......

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    22
    38
    34
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“So friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We dined at Sam Snead's Tavern one evening during a recent visit to The Homestead. I don't think I have ever been to a restaurant before whose staff was friendlier or more accommodating. The head waiter and our server both made a point of telling us from the start that, if we had any special requests, they would be more than happy to accommodate them. The food was great, and the ambiance was warm and cozy. We loved it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

An adjunct to the Homestead in that its a short walk from the resort and worth the walk. We had an excellent meal served by a very talented server who knew how to smile and keep a smile in her voice. The burgers were first rate and the entire meal was well above average. Just what we expected for a place with such a venerable name.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Mike husband and I did not have reservations so we sat at the bar. The service was a humiliating experience, we will leave it at that. I had the trout and a salad which was delicious. Yes, it was overpriced but that was not a surprise as it is part of the Homestead. I would like to go back again with reservations.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting pub - good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Ate her on our first night at the Homestead. Trying to service better than average food in a pub setting. Service and atmosphere were OK, but not special. The food was pretty good - I had a very good Parmesan crusted trout but it was also not cheap. Overall - we had a good experience, but weren't dying to go back. Recommend checking out the Waterwheel in Warm Springs instead

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Snead's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Sam Snead's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Snead's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.