We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland and Flavorless” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Snead's Tavern

Sam Snead's Tavern
Homestead Resort, 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
(800) 838-1766
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Armenian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bland and Flavorless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very disappointed in our meal. Everything was so blah - even the bread pudding was nothing special. Wish we had eaten somewhere else.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    23
    40
    34
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olumbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I had the fish and chips which was OK and my husband had the flank steak which was OK as well. Our waitress was way too attentive. She kept coming to our table every 3 minutes or so. It was annoying.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, nc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We decided at the last minute to try to make a reservation at this restaurant for a Saturday night. When we called they were fully booked but we left our phone number and luckily they were able to fit us in that evening. The food was delicious. I had the parmesan crusted trout and it was outstanding!Everyone else I was with had the rib eye and they all said it was awesome too! Highly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique Menu Items”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ate here our first night -- both of us tried a few unique items on the menu. Food was pretty good. Very attentive and friendly wait staff. Good place for comfort food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Memorabilia Great/Food Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stop in for a drink and check out the Sam Snead memorabilia. Don't go for anything more than a burger. This was our second try at this restaurant and the food is expensive for basic food. My husband had a burger and wings and said they were reasonable standards. My friend and I had the trout. Cooked in way too much bread coating and cheese. Couldn't taste the trout. Don't waste your money.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Snead's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Sam Snead's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Snead's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.