We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Snead's Tavern

Sam Snead's Tavern
Homestead Resort, 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
+1 800-838-1766
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This gastro-tavern blends modern techniques with traditional recipes while providing house-made comfort dishes qith a quality approach.Selections include Tavern Slammers, chicken pot pies, sauteed Allegheny Mountain trout, Sam's selection of grilled steaks and fun desserts such as our famed cinnamon doughnut bread pudding and apple cobblers. Wash it all down with a vast menu of wines and regional brews that complement savory dinners and a unique setting in the village of Hot Springs. Enjoy viewing the pictures recapping the life of the late legendary golfer, Sam Snead. Sam Snead was born here in Hot Springs and always made it his home. Sam's professional career spanned nearly seven decades, and he amassed at least 185 tournament victories, more than any other player in the history of the PGA Tour.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I had the fish and chips which was OK and my husband had the flank steak which was OK as well. Our waitress was way too attentive. She kept coming to our table every 3 minutes or so. It was annoying.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    74
    59
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
raleigh, nc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We decided at the last minute to try to make a reservation at this restaurant for a Saturday night. When we called they were fully booked but we left our phone number and luckily they were able to fit us in that evening. The food was delicious. I had the parmesan crusted trout and it was outstanding!Everyone else I was with had the rib eye and they all said it was awesome too! Highly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique Menu Items”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ate here our first night -- both of us tried a few unique items on the menu. Food was pretty good. Very attentive and friendly wait staff. Good place for comfort food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Memorabilia Great/Food Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stop in for a drink and check out the Sam Snead memorabilia. Don't go for anything more than a burger. This was our second try at this restaurant and the food is expensive for basic food. My husband had a burger and wings and said they were reasonable standards. My friend and I had the trout. Cooked in way too much bread coating and cheese. Couldn't taste the trout. Don't waste your money.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Get there early!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I usually go early to secure a good table because there are a lot of people that come here from the Homestead! Food has always been good. Wait staff are very accommodating. This is not the place for you if you are on a budget. The prices are higher than a lower normal family budget. I would welcome couples! I love coming here after soaking in the Jefferson Pools.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Snead's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Sam Snead's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Snead's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.