We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Snead's Tavern

Sam Snead's Tavern
Homestead Resort, 7696 Sam Snead Highway, Hot Springs, VA 24445
(800) 838-1766
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Armenian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Better for casual dinner. The main dining room is much better for something nicer. I look forward to the new restaurant with the large elevated terrace.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    22
    38
    34
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
2 reviews
“Cozy Tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had two real nice meals at Sam Sneads while staying at the Homestead. Our server was very pleasant and the food was good. One note -- if you are a big eater, do not order the pot pie unless you order two! They are very good and were sufficient for my 7 year old daughter, but are two small for an adult entre.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Hot Springs Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Sam Sneads is a great tavern. Go for the burgers and the Buzzbombs!!! We make a point to visit whenever we are in town.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

It was too dark, and over priced. We dined at 6:00 and didn't have to wait at all. The service was good though.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food With a 2 Hour Wait and a Very Expensive Price Tag”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

During a recent stay at the lack luster Homestead Resort (report to follow) I had the opportunity to eat at Sam Sneed's on two occasions. The food we great but the wait staff seemed like they really did not want you to be there. The first night they turned many people away while 4 tables were empty the majority of the grueling two hours it took to eat. The steak was very well prepared and the blueberry cobbler is a wow factor. We had to go back the 2nd night due to the previous nights dinner at the main dining room was so bad (see future review) The second night was the same as the 1st night. 2 hours and 15 minutes of a staff that just did not care. But the food once you received it was great. Our Server gave complementary wine to the couple behind us for the long wait. So I guess they waited longer than us.

We had purchased the meal plan with our resort stay but had we have not already paid this meal was outrageously expensive.

One other note is that the Lemonade is not part of the meal plan and with the resort surcharge added it was $4.42 for fountain drink Lemonade. The entire resort has this mysterious surcharge on everything????

It is sad that this was almost the same experience we had 5 years ago and many people have reviewed it the same was and nothing has changed. I was at the Homestead for a conference and I will choose just not to attend instead of experiencing this type of event the next time it rolls around to the Homesteads turn to host. My recommendation skip the entire resort and go somewhere they want you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Snead's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Sam Snead's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Snead's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.