We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fly fishing and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve
Save
You added Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve to your Saves list
2814 Main Street, Hot Springs, VA 24445 (Formerly Natural Retreats Virginia Hot Springs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fly fishing and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is our third time staying at the Meadow Lane Lodge and Cottages. At the past 2 visits it was run by the owner, Glenn Hirsch. We were hesitant about going again (as it was perfect before!) now that it is overseen by an outfitting company (Natural Retreats), but it was great! This time we traveled with family, another adult couple, so we stayed in the Car Barn Cottage. It was charming, very clean, and well appointed with enough kitchen supplies that we were able to eat in several nights. The bedrooms are identical, each with a full bath, and there is a large living room / kitchen with comfortable seating. Natural Retreats kindly stocked the refrigerator with eggs, milk, and butter to get us started. Their "welcome hamper" was full of goodies and a very pleasant wine. We ran into the concierge, Tiffany, most days and she always inquired about any needs we might have and stressed that we could call her any time. Having been to Meadow Lane before we were fairly self-sufficient. One member of our group fished their renowned portion of the Jackson River for 1/2 of each day. The trout were definitely available to the skilled angler. The rest of our group enjoyed long walks, birding, photography, the friendly farm animals and a deep sense of relaxation.
We will surely return. Natural Retreats is doing a fine job maintaining the idyllic ambience of Meadow Lane that calls us back again and again

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Spent another glorious 4 day weekend at the Trailview Cottage with my beautiful bride of 24 years. Excellent location. Private, quiet, serene. Perfect place for a romantic getaway. This is our second stay in 2 years and plan to continue the tradition. The Trailview cottage is a wonderful place, very clean and decorated nicely. Found out something interesting this time. The Trailview cottage was actually an old Pennsylvania home relocated to Hot Springs. The outside is very deceiving as to the actual size of the cottage. Quite large and able to accommodate 3 couples. The staff was extremely accommodating across the board, Tiffany, Alexis and Brandon exceeded my/our expectations. Made our reservations, also had flowers and other amenities ready for our arrival. The staff always goes above and beyond and this is normal process for them. Many Kudos to Natural Retreats and we will be returning in the fall as the scenery is outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Overlook Manor. There was plenty of room to accommodate all none of us and it was far enough from the neighbors to be private but not too far to be secluded! It felt like a 2nd home & the concierge was extremely pleasant and helpful with everything including a gift basket with the best cheese & other goodies for my mother's birthday. So peaceful & relaxing we will DEFINITELY visit again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NR_Concierge, Manager at Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
I'm so glad you had a good stay at Overlook Manor. Our team works hard to insure everybody gets the best possible experience and it is encouraging when we hear things went well.

Thanks for choosing Natural Retreats and thanks for sharing your experience!
~ The Natural Retreats Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We also had a very disappointing experience. Despite directly inquiring about wifi availability at the resort, and at our cottage, and being told explicitly that high speed internet was available, it was not. In fact, employees at the resort indicated that wifi had been a problem for quite sometime but that it wasn't a priority for management to address it. They indicated that everybody at the resort knew this and could not explain why the reservation people stated otherwise. I was told to go stand on a bench (it was 35 degrees outside) and in that one stop I might be able to get a connection. They do, now, though list this clearly on their website (I guess that's their fix). Additionally, cell phone service is extremely limited on the grounds and in the area. When we went to address our concerns, we met an extremely rude and odd woman who presented herself as manager, but actually apparently is a long-term guest who's family used to have an ownership interest in the property. She was extremely rude, insulting, disparaging and unhelpful. After much back and forth with others, we were relocated to another cottage that we were told would "completely satisfy our needs." It also did not have any connection that was usable (literally, would not ping the server before a timeout). Additionally, the cottage and grounds are overstated by beautiful professional photography on their website, but with much less appeal in person. The staff was less than helpful with other inquires as well, such as telling us the best place to grab a snack or some refreshments was the Marathon gas station down the road. After repeated disappointments and poor service, we finally decided to cancel our weekend. In the resort's defense, they did provide a full refund, but it completely ruined a rare weekend getaway without kids to work on personal projects. Unfortunately, we were hoodwinked by great photos, over promises, and the idea of a quaint getaway that was really more mediocre accommodations, in the middle of nowhere, and ineffective customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NR_Concierge, Director of Sales at Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear STXYZ,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay with us at Meadow Lane. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we continually strive to improve upon the service level offered to our valued guests.

I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. The level of service you received is not acceptable and will be addressed with the concerned party. I’m pleased to announce that we have now installed additional Wi-Fi routers in the majority of the cottages to boost connectivity. Whilst an apology will not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I do extend it with all sincerity.

Again please accept my apology and I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future for a true Natural Retreats experience.

Kind Regards,

Liz Heal
Head of Vacation Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at Meadow Lane Lodge and Cottages and had a wonderful time fishing the Jackson River.
The Car Barn cottage was warm, clean and quiet. We truly enjoyed this area and it's natural surroundings. We look forward to returning next fall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NR_Concierge, Manager at Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Natural Retreats and sharing your experience. We're thrilled you enjoyed the natural surroundings we love so much. Meadow Lane is a beautiful retreat.

We look forward to having you back.

The Natural Retreats Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We rented the cottage for a sister getaway and it was delightful. A very nice area and the people at Natural Retreats were very helpful and gave great advice! They were knowledgable about the rental properties and surrounding area. I originally looked at the Homestead but it was too pricey, so having a concierge from Natural Retreats fill us in on activities and dinner spots was awesome!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NR_Concierge, Manager at Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Jenj621,

Thanks so much for choosing Natural Retreats. We take great pride in our Concierge Team so it is nice to know our efforts are working. From the very beginning, Natural Retreats has gone the extra mile to make sure our guests get the most out of their stay. We really enjoy this business and it's very rewarding hearing you had a good time.

All the best and we look forward to having you and your sister back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Lovely scenery! The cottage we rented was wonderful and the NR staff is excellent. Had a fantastic weekend. We chose a cottage that allowed pets; our Standard Poodle was thrilled, too. Only caution would be lack of dining options in the community off-season. We availed ourselves of the Homesteads' Day Passes. Well worth it.

Room Tip: We visited over Columbus Day weekend and found that dining out options were very limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NR_Concierge, Manager at Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed the location and cottage. Your pup is always welcome!

Till next time,
The Natural Retreats Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve

Address: 2814 Main Street, Hot Springs, VA 24445 (Formerly Natural Retreats Virginia Hot Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a break in a remarkably beautiful wilderness location with the new residences at Virginia Hot Springs, set amongst the 11,500 acre Homestead Preserve. This stunning and iconic region is richly historic and provides the perfect setting for our luxurious and comfortable cabins and cottages.You’ll find a wealth of activities within your reach, including many hiking trails, horseriding paths, a skiing, snowboarding and tubing area, fly fishing rivers, golf courses and plenty of local entertainment to help make your holiday unique.The retreat is surrounded by the Allegheny Mountains at the southwest edge of the Old Dominion. The Nature Conservancy’s Warm Springs Mountain Preserve and the George Washington National Forest also borderthe area, providing stunning views and landscapes to explore in every direction. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.