We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve
Save
You added Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve to your Saves list
2814 Main Street, Hot Springs, VA 24445 (Formerly Natural Retreats Virginia Hot Springs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Lovely scenery! The cottage we rented was wonderful and the NR staff is excellent. Had a fantastic weekend. We chose a cottage that allowed pets; our Standard Poodle was thrilled, too. Only caution would be lack of dining options in the community off-season. We availed ourselves of the Homesteads' Day Passes. Well worth it.

Room Tip: We visited over Columbus Day weekend and found that dining out options were very limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NR_Concierge, Manager at Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed the location and cottage. Your pup is always welcome!

Till next time,
The Natural Retreats Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We planned a vacation with Natural Retreats. What a fantastic company. They were with us every step of the way. We had four girls spending a long weekend at the Feather Ridge property. This house is fabulous beyond words. It is gorgeous and decorated with Noreen style than any place I have ever stayed before. Full access to the Dairy with a nice small fitness room and a beautiful hot tub and game room. I highly recommend this company and specifically this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed at Shepherd's Cottage and it's a great place to stay in Hot Springs, VA. It was our home away from home! It had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, from the kitchen that was well appointed with all the modern conveniences needed, to the comfortable family room and beautiful bedrooms. Loved the decor, the rustic feel and look of the Cottage. The property's grounds were inviting, and the area was quiet!
A Welcome Basket was left in the kitchen filled with goodies that were all made in VA! We certainly made use of the granola and coffee for breakfast, and the bread, cheese and wine was great for an evening by the fireplace.
The Natural Retreats' s staff are wonderful to deal with from making the reservations, to making sure everything is OK when you arrive, to being very helpful with dinner recommendations; Which by the way, The Water Wheel Restaurant at the Inn at Gristmill Square, Cucci's Pizzeria, and The Table at Warm Springs Inn were excellent choices.
Also, the property was located less than 2 miles from The Homestead Resort. The Jefferson Pools, and Milk House Market and Old Dairy Barn was located nearby. Lots of outdoor activities available, from biking, hiking to fishing.
We will definitely stay here again or at one of the other Natural Retreats properties when we are in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent 3 nights over Labor Day weekend in the Swiggle cottage. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The property was wonderful with lots of opportunities to explore. Nicely located for trips to Warm and Hot Springs, and the WV. Staff were very responsive to our requests and very helpful. We really appreciate the attention to the history of the property and the care given to the natural environment. There was one glitch in that a picnic lunch we had pre-ordered was not well communicated to the deli vendor, so the appropriate lunch was not ready. We ordered another lunch separately and the natural retreats staff took care of the bill for the pre-ordered lunch without question. More is said of the quality of customer service by how errors are dealt with than with the absence of errors.

We are already making plans to return and try one of the other accommodations on the property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our family enjoyed a relaxing week at Shepherd's Cottage, owned by Natural Retreats in Hot Springs, VA in July 2013. The house is comfortable and beautifully decorated. The Great Room has a gorgeous fireplace and lots of seating. The kitchen is huge and very well-appointed. Our four kids loved the outdoor swing on the porch and the firepit in the back. The Old Dairy hosts a beautiful pool and game room. The Natural Retreats staff was very accommodating, as were all of the residents of Bath County whom we encountered. We highly recommend the Warm Spirits Spa and the Waterwheel Restaurant at the Grist Mill Inn. Wonderful experience - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We are so impressed with the Trailview Cottage and Natural Retreats. The company is very attentive: the gift basket with fresh bread, wine, and jam along with cheese and milk in the 'fridge was perfect. The beds are very comfortable in every room (we've used them all). The cottage is accessible to dining, hiking, groceries, etc., while remaining quiet and remote. It's a beautiful cottage and a perfect place to relax.

Room Tip: Twin bedroom downstairs, attached to the den which has 2 day beds (roomy enough for our 6' tall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Herdsman Cottage for a week and we had a wonderful time! The cottage is very comfortable and warm feeling, stocked with anything we could ever need. With 5 adults and two children, the cottage had lots of room and we all enjoyed sitting around the fireplace in the living room at night together.
The amenities at the Old Diary across the street from the cottage, had a lot to offer. Not only was there the Old Dairy Market where you could grab a coffee and something to eat, but there was also a hot tub, sauna, fitness center and a recreation area with flat screen tvs, games and a pool table!! We enjoyed our stay very much and we will definitely be back to stay with Natural Retreats in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve

Address: 2814 Main Street, Hot Springs, VA 24445 (Formerly Natural Retreats Virginia Hot Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a break in a remarkably beautiful wilderness location with the new residences at Virginia Hot Springs, set amongst the 11,500 acre Homestead Preserve. This stunning and iconic region is richly historic and provides the perfect setting for our luxurious and comfortable cabins and cottages.You’ll find a wealth of activities within your reach, including many hiking trails, horseriding paths, a skiing, snowboarding and tubing area, fly fishing rivers, golf courses and plenty of local entertainment to help make your holiday unique.The retreat is surrounded by the Allegheny Mountains at the southwest edge of the Old Dominion. The Nature Conservancy’s Warm Springs Mountain Preserve and the George Washington National Forest also borderthe area, providing stunning views and landscapes to explore in every direction. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.