We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Herdsman Cottage family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve
Save
You added Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve to your Saves list
2814 Main Street, Hot Springs, VA 24445 (Formerly Natural Retreats Virginia Hot Springs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Redding, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Herdsman Cottage family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Herdsman Cottage for a week and we had a wonderful time! The cottage is very comfortable and warm feeling, stocked with anything we could ever need. With 5 adults and two children, the cottage had lots of room and we all enjoyed sitting around the fireplace in the living room at night together.
The amenities at the Old Diary across the street from the cottage, had a lot to offer. Not only was there the Old Dairy Market where you could grab a coffee and something to eat, but there was also a hot tub, sauna, fitness center and a recreation area with flat screen tvs, games and a pool table!! We enjoyed our stay very much and we will definitely be back to stay with Natural Retreats in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Trailview home in Hot Springs. Morgan, Kris and Tiffany were over-the-top OUTSTANDING... I had arrangements of Flowers, Food Baskets, Champagne etc. setup for my wife and they not only completed all but spent the time to appropriately arrange everything in the house. Super People across the board.. The Conceirge service was impeccable, not only did they make the reservations but followed up with me during the stay to confirm. They even made sure the wood was stacked for the fireplace!!!! Couldn't ask for a better, relaxing, romantic weekend with my spouse of 23 years.... Incredible experience and I certainly will return within 6 months... Their group should be the "Poster Team" for the company. Excellent is not a good enough word of our experience. 10 ++++

Room Tip: Choice a house/cottage.... Privacy..Intimacy and QUIET.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowshoe, West Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our family visited Virginia Hot Springs for Christmas of 2012 and stayed with Natural Retreats. The conceirge service was wonderful and the staff on site absolutely took care of our every need! We had a great time exploring and dining in the historic area and our family found many interesting things to see and do. We highly recommend the Jefferson Pools experience, which is a historic and natural hot springs pool. We thought we might spend 20 minutes or so soaking and ended up enjoying the relaxing float for over an hour!! Thank-you so much Natural Retreats!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a fabulous stay at Meadow Lane Lodge. The cottage is so beautiful and quaint. My husband and I really had a great time. The continental breakfast was over the top. Because we all like to fish, and the property is cut by a beautiful river, we plan to return with extended family for a summer vacation.

Room Tip: Right down the road are a couple of great restaurants and the Jefferson Baths—worth the trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have been going to Meadow Lane Lodge for a fishing trip every year for at least six years. This year they turned over management of their property to Natural Retreats who have increased prices by quite a bit for rooms. They have also instituted a rod fee for fishing. Fishing used to be free for guests. This makes a fishing trip quite a bit more expensive than it used to be. As with any change there were some challenges. The web site was difficult to navigate. However, once I got in touch with someone on the phone all questions were answered and they were very helpful. The fishing was good once again. They do a good job managing the river and restricting the number of people. The river manager/guide was very helpful. Overall I enjoyed the experience once again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We, too, had the Trail View cabin. I agree with another review that "cabin" doesn't exactly describe this gorgeous place. It has rustic elements -- log structure, fireplace, front porch -- but it is beautiful, well equiped and nicely furnished. I loved it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband I am rented the Shepards Cottage for a relaxing weekend! It was absolutely fantastic! The cabin was beautiful and the staff (Tiffany and Chris) were extremely helpful and accomodating! We liked it so much that we brought the kids with us the next go around. The fireplace is amazing and we have nothing but wonderful things to say!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve

Address: 2814 Main Street, Hot Springs, VA 24445 (Formerly Natural Retreats Virginia Hot Springs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a break in a remarkably beautiful wilderness location with the new residences at Virginia Hot Springs, set amongst the 11,500 acre Homestead Preserve. This stunning and iconic region is richly historic and provides the perfect setting for our luxurious and comfortable cabins and cottages.You’ll find a wealth of activities within your reach, including many hiking trails, horseriding paths, a skiing, snowboarding and tubing area, fly fishing rivers, golf courses and plenty of local entertainment to help make your holiday unique.The retreat is surrounded by the Allegheny Mountains at the southwest edge of the Old Dominion. The Nature Conservancy’s Warm Springs Mountain Preserve and the George Washington National Forest also borderthe area, providing stunning views and landscapes to explore in every direction. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Natural Retreats Homestead Perserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.