We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think they are closing it down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Cascades at the Homestead

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lower Cascades at the Homestead
U.S. Route 220 Main Street, P.O. Box 2000, Hot Springs, VA 24445
800-838-1766, 540-839-1766
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Robert Trent Jones' trademark layout features runway tee boxes, wide-open fairways and strategically placed bunkers for a challenging game.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I think they are closing it down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We did not play the Lower Cascades on our recent visit, in part because it closed around Labor Day, and we heard the closure was likely permanent -- the irrigation system, like the course, is 49 years old, and it needs about $1 million to be replaced.
Although I am sorry to see any golf course go, I think this is one of those Robert Trent Jones courses that really does not withstand the test of time. Too many holes (like the par 5 2nd) are replicas of holes on his other courses; and some holes (i, 10, 11 especially) just seem shoehorned in to awkward terrain. But some holes I'll miss. The par 5 seventh was just normal length, but the fairway (and green) curled around a pond, challenging you to go as far right (toward the green) as you dared (or thought you could go!). The par 3 fourth was about 180 yds downhill: just a beautiful view as you watch your shot fly across the sky, the mountains, and then (you hope) land on the green.
And I am sorry to see it go because I shot a 38 on the front nine, two over par, my best scoring time ever. (Don't ask about the post-lunch back 9 -- for public consumption, I've forgotten :-) )

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millersville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect course for me.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I loved this course and I think it was because there was very little "stuff" for me to hit over. There were plenty of place to lose your ball, but I felt the fairways were wide enough the rough cut down enough for any level of player. There is only a small snack bar for hotedogs, pre-made sandwiches and drinks...my reason for the very good and not excellent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Basic Golf”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Golf was okay, the greens were in rough shape and the sand was not sand at all, more like a rock garden.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Needs some work.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a 1964 Robert Trent Jones Sr. layout that just does not get enough play. So they are cutting corners. The tees in particular are pretty shabby. Greens, fairways and rough are much better but not up to luxury resort standards. At the bottom of the recession they were closing this course part of the time. The layout itself is interesting with no two holes alike. We are Owner's club members so we are not subject to hotel greens fees.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad Value at $100”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a $40 golf course at best. I know you pay a premium for "resort golf", but at almost $100 a round, you should really reconsider your choice. The views were impressive at times with very unique holes, but it was not maintained to any sort of tournament standard. Again, not a bad course, and certainly not neglected (except for the disgusting locker room), but not worth more than $40.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lower Cascades at the Homestead also viewed

 

Been to Lower Cascades at the Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower Cascades at the Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;