We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect course for me.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Cascades at the Homestead

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lower Cascades at the Homestead
U.S. Route 220 Main Street, P.O. Box 2000, Hot Springs, VA 24445
800-838-1766, 540-839-1766
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Robert Trent Jones' trademark layout features runway tee boxes, wide-open fairways and strategically placed bunkers for a challenging game.
Millersville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect course for me.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I loved this course and I think it was because there was very little "stuff" for me to hit over. There were plenty of place to lose your ball, but I felt the fairways were wide enough the rough cut down enough for any level of player. There is only a small snack bar for hotedogs, pre-made sandwiches and drinks...my reason for the very good and not excellent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Basic Golf”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Golf was okay, the greens were in rough shape and the sand was not sand at all, more like a rock garden.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Needs some work.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a 1964 Robert Trent Jones Sr. layout that just does not get enough play. So they are cutting corners. The tees in particular are pretty shabby. Greens, fairways and rough are much better but not up to luxury resort standards. At the bottom of the recession they were closing this course part of the time. The layout itself is interesting with no two holes alike. We are Owner's club members so we are not subject to hotel greens fees.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad Value at $100”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a $40 golf course at best. I know you pay a premium for "resort golf", but at almost $100 a round, you should really reconsider your choice. The views were impressive at times with very unique holes, but it was not maintained to any sort of tournament standard. Again, not a bad course, and certainly not neglected (except for the disgusting locker room), but not worth more than $40.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great underrated course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

I have played all the Homestead courses including the Lower Cascades this past spring. It is a ways from the resort and not on as good shape as the other courses. The clubhouse is old and really just a small proshop with snack bar. Staff were very nice.
The weather was great and course was empty. The biggest difference from the other Homestead courses is the condition. You can tell they don't spend as much money on this course, but it was still in real good shape. The greens were very nice.
The layout is fantastic. Most of the holes are pleasing to the eye and several are memorable. One tricky hole and you'll know it when you play it.
The course is a challenge and requires good shots, but mishits aren't always punished. Scenery is good.
I like this course much better than the old course, it feels more like a modern course, which compared to the old
course, it is. It is a good tune up for The Cascades. Would be happy to play it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lower Cascades at the Homestead also viewed

 

Been to Lower Cascades at the Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower Cascades at the Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.