We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Ski Area

Homestead Ski Area
Hot Springs, VA
Improve this listing
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Attraction Details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great family fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Has a lot to offer for the whole family, especially if you have young ones. We've always enjoyed the lodge as well. Nice view of the ski area from the lodge and perfect for viewing with a hot cocoa on hand. Staff are awesome!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great for beginners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We visited the Homestead ski area while staying at The Homestead. It was my four year old son's first time skiing and this was the perfect place for him to learn. Not a place for advanced skiers, but if you are a beginner or just want to ski for a few hours while staying at The Homestead, it is a nice activity option. Basically, it is one long slope, the top of the mountain being the black diamond, the middle being intermediate and then a nice size beginners area at the bottom. There is an outdoor seating area with a fireplace at the bottom of the slope where you can sit by the fire and watch the skiers coming down the slope. They were about to close for the season while we were there, so the only food options in the cafe were a few cold sandwiches/ salads and a couple soups. They were ok. Typical ski resort fare. Below the cafe/restroom area there is a ski rental shop as well as lockers for rent . Although there is shuttle service from the hotel, we drove because we brought our skis with us. It took less than five minutes by car.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“average snackbar food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The skiing is the important thing here. Always a good spot to grab a hot chocolate -- or a beer. The food is expensive for what it is, but then again, it is a resort.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Fun for a novice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We took our child for his first ski trip. The instructors and the slopes were perfect for this. The slope is a short bus ride from the hotel.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice for beginners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The ski area is really a nice setup for a small, Eastern ski resort. It is a nice activity to enjoy as part of a larger stay at the Homestead. The rental equipment is top-notch, and the food (as everywhere at the Homestead) is great. This is not an area for the Double-Black Diamond skier. It is fun, and it is great for kids and a few hours of fun. The destination is the resort - and an afternoon or morning of skiing can really complete a terriffic stay.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homestead Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Homestead Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Homestead Ski Area to your Saves list