We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no lift lines, but ONLY one trail” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Ski Area

Homestead Ski Area
Hot Springs, VA
Improve this listing
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Attraction Details
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“no lift lines, but ONLY one trail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Food okay at the ski area and no outside food allowed. Kids loved that the trail was easy, helped them get comfortable on skis. Never a wait on the lift. Almost boring for an all-day ski, but really fun for a 1/2 day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hollins, Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Small ski resort, but it has its charms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

First, this is a relatively small ski area, even by VA-WV standards. Any ski trip to The Homestead is best combined with a stay at the resort.
We skiied on day #2 of this season. As it had been quite warm the previous week, they were only open to get the main run/lift open. Ski conditions below the mid-lift station were excellent, but that's a pretty short run. They eventually opened to the top station mid-afternoon, with Main Run (black diamond) open. It was groomed but quite packed and getting a little hard by then, especially with so few skiiers.
Even though it was Sunday during a holiday weekend, there were very few skiiers/snowboarders on the slope. We almost felt like we had the place to ourselves. My kids are beginners, and they took a private lesson with no interference at all. The instructor gets 5 stars.
In general, I would say that this should be a good resort for beginners.
The lunch fare at the Lodge was suprisingly good. About as good as one could expect for fast food.
One annoyance is that they only have one rental charge. We have our own boots, but we paid the full $35 rental for skiis, with no deduction for the boots.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ski and Skate package”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Ice , Ice, Ice and Ski package was not what was portrayed to be by Concierge. Snow tubing area closed. just Poor!!!!!! Skating never opened!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Skiing Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I really liked the skiing at the Homestead but I am not a good skier and may not be judging correctly. It is convenient to those at the resort though and everyone seemed to be having fun.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Great for beginners and families! Although we had very little natural snow, the resort has snow making capabilities. The staff is very friendly especially the instructors.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homestead Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Homestead Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.