We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST place in the US to Trout Fish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson River

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jackson River
Hot Springs, VA
Improve this listing
Type: Hiking Trails, Biking Trails
Attraction Details
VA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“BEST place in the US to Trout Fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've been to the Jackson on a number of occasions to trout fish. You MUST know the RULES of that River or you could get in DEEP trouble. I'm specifically speaking of the "Old Kings Grant", which to me is a crock; however, people that live there try to protect, "THEIR RIVER", area and do not want you to trespass on “THEIR” property. So, experience the Jackson; however, just BEWARE, of property owners that are NOT very friendly at all. Some will even threaten you with their SHOTGUN to get you off of their property. I've gone with experienced individuals and I have never had any problems; however, I've heard stories...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
2 reviews
“Beautiful -”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We did not do any tours associated with the Homestead though. It's a pretty river, found a beautiful water fall along 220

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and pristine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is the best kept secret in the United States! What a treat to float/kayak/canoe down this gorgeous stretch of river. It is SO peacful--a slice of heaven. Not for serious river runners needing class 4-6 rapids, but for the kayaker who just wants fun and relaxation, this place can't be beat! The river has 5 put-in spots and 5 take-out spots. Can't begin to tell you how beautiful. The scenery rivals many rivers out west.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Excellent Trout Stream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Excellent trout stream in western Virginia. It has many entry points and contains a release area that harbors many large trout over 15 inches.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best Trout Fly Fishing ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The water that runs down from the dam makes this river very COLD all year around. If you enjoy trout fly fishing, you should be on the Jackson.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson River also viewed

 

Been to Jackson River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.