We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise, not in a good way” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill

Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill
15 Sunset Hill Road, Hot Springs, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Surprise, not in a good way”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We'd read all of the TripAdvisor and Yelp reviews and went for dinner our first night in Hot Springs. We are not fussy people, but the food was mediocre, the tables sticky, the service poor. We wanted to love this place, but instead we felt sorry that we'd gone. The owners seem nice enough -- they were working very hard and seemed understaffed -- but overall, it was not a relaxing experience.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    51
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love these guys!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Such a great experience talking to the really nice people that own this place, made us feel very welcome. I love the Elvis Presley memorabilia (there's pretty much a small museum of it), the pool table, the juke box, and the red vinyl chairs. Go here for the good prices on good food (great chicken and mac n cheese), the people, and the atmosphere. Fun and tasty!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“EXCELLENT !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Loved this place...The Food was great and very reasonably priced. The owner is awesome. Makes you feel very welcome at his establishment. I would Highly recommend Lindsay's Roost !!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A good breakfast, good for a change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

After an opulent stay at the local resort, we had a tasty and modestly priced breakfast at Lindsay's Roost. Met our needs.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lindsay's Roost--A Good Place to Perch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have just completed a four-night vacation at The Homestead in Hot Springs, Virginia. We were unwilling to pay the hefty prices at the resort restaurants, so we ventured into the nearby village in search of "good eats." Our search was rewarded when we found a hidden gem--Lindsay's Roost. We had breakfast there twice and dinner once. Our friends ate almost every meal there during our Homestead stay. The fried tilapia, mac and cheese, and green beans were delicious. The pancakes were great, the biscuits and rolls were tender and baked perfectly, and the crispy bacon was some of the best I've ever eaten. Throw in a really friendly staff and comfortable "kick off your shoes and sit a spell" atmosphere, and Lindsay's Roost fits the bill. Special kudos go to the cook and wait staff for serving a large group of bikers along with their regular customers on Saturday morning. When in Hot Springs, Virginia, "perch" at Lindsay's Roost!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill also viewed

Hot Springs, VA
 

Been to Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.