We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will need a nap afterwards!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill

Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill
15 Sunset Hill Road, Hot Springs, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will need a nap afterwards!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

A Must for breakfast when staying at the Homestead. Normal Prices with local quality. Meaning locals eat their regularly. Great pancakes and eggs.... Would have gone back for a burger at lunch but it was our last day.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    45
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Went to stay at the Homestead $300 room was not going to pay $200 for dinner. Asked one of the managers he told us to go to Sam Sneads failed to mention it is owned by Omni. Finally asked when of the Parking Valets and he steered us to Lindsay's Roost. Just a nice little country diner food was good and plentiful. We talked to the owner for 10 minutes he thanked us for stopping in for dinner. Total price $43 yeah we went back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
1 review
“Lindsay's Roost to the rescue.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My wife and two children were staying at the Homestead Resort. The price of food there is crazy for the average person. So we went wandering in the little town of hot springs and found Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill. This is a great place to relax and have home cooked meals for a good price. The owner Mr. Robert Lindsay came to our table and introduced himself. What a pleasure it was to speak with him. We ended up eating 3 meals there, breakfast,lunch and dinner. don't forget to check out his Elvis room.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Robert Lindsay makes "Lindsay's Roost"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is really the only other place in an economically challenged town for a meal, outside the Homestead Resort. It's a cash/check only place, with fast service, and decent food. What makes this place really special is the owner, Robert Lindsay. An incredibly nice man who took a lot of time to talk to us. We sat in the first room upon entering, and after our meal, he encouraged us to check out his Elvis collection! He's got all kinds of Elvis memorabilia in 2 rooms. Whether or not you liked Elvis, you have to admire the collection, as well as Robert's pride in it. He definitely made our meal special and look forward to seeing him again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
“Started out good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were staying at The Homestead but wanted to venture out. We arrived, and sat promptly. My sister had the chicken platter and I had the philly cheesesteak. It was a fine meal. I really liked our waiter, he was very nice and personable. However, when it was time to pay it was a fiasco. The woman did not know how to ring it up, and then she rang us up incorrectly. Finally someone else had to come and help, but then she did the same thing. After, ten minutes of this our good moods and food high, began to fall. It is definitely a local place. I was going to give it three stars because it was a fine meal but the ending dropped it for me.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.