We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$30 martini” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill

Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill
15 Sunset Hill Road, Hot Springs, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“$30 martini”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The food was amazing, I had the trout and my fiancé had the steak. However, when they warn you about the cost of a martini they mean per shot NOT the entire martini. Beware, my $15 entre was accompanied by a surprise $30 martini!!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    50
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, NC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a small mom and pop in "downtown" Hot Springs. It is just off the main road by the bank. The food here was excellent and the staff were absolutely wonderful from the owner to the cook. This is a resort town and spending $100 for dinner is really easy. At Lindsay's you can get a home style meal for a VERY reasonable price..even with a beer or two.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very quick service, great burgers (I'm gluten free and ordered the low carb burger - just didn't have a bun). Cheap meal!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Saved" by Lindsay's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Took a 3 day "grandkids" vacation to the Homestead with their Bed and Breakfast deal. I'd been there many times as a VMEA Convention participate (in November), but never as a regular guest. We arrived on our 1st night with no Homestead reservations for supper and they were not available until late. So we went to Lindsay's. We all enjoyed our meals and it was just like what you would expect in a very small village. We will always include one meal there when we go back to Hot Springs. Staff was just great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Down Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

So, your staying at the Homestead and you need a grease fix. This is the place! Cold beer, a cheese (American only) burger with grilled onions and a big basket of sweet potato fries. Life should be so simple and satisfying. Expect nothing more or less and it is worth the short drive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill also viewed

Hot Springs, VA
 

Been to Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.