We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill

Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill
15 Sunset Hill Road, Hot Springs, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very quick service, great burgers (I'm gluten free and ordered the low carb burger - just didn't have a bun). Cheap meal!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    65
    19
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Saved" by Lindsay's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Took a 3 day "grandkids" vacation to the Homestead with their Bed and Breakfast deal. I'd been there many times as a VMEA Convention participate (in November), but never as a regular guest. We arrived on our 1st night with no Homestead reservations for supper and they were not available until late. So we went to Lindsay's. We all enjoyed our meals and it was just like what you would expect in a very small village. We will always include one meal there when we go back to Hot Springs. Staff was just great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Down Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

So, your staying at the Homestead and you need a grease fix. This is the place! Cold beer, a cheese (American only) burger with grilled onions and a big basket of sweet potato fries. Life should be so simple and satisfying. Expect nothing more or less and it is worth the short drive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AMERICANA AT ITS BEST”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I describe this place as a "real dive".. a "beer joint".. but you know what... I always leave satisfied with my food and service. It was so hot in there on Monday.. I think the Elvis portrait was sweating but the chicken salad and ice tea cooled me right down. I make at least one visit while staying at The Homestead. Its a good value!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calhoun, GA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Homemade deserts and hot fries-yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Have been here several times over the years when visiting the Homestead. The burger was just ok, but I love their hot fries. They are very spicy and very good. I had peanut butter pie for desert and it was amazing. All of their deserts are homemade and their milkshakes are great too. Not much on atmosphere, but if you are looking for good cheap eats near the Homestead, I recommend stopping here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill also viewed

Hot Springs, VA
 

Been to Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.