We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Saved" by Lindsay's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill

Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill
15 Sunset Hill Road, Hot Springs, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Saved" by Lindsay's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Took a 3 day "grandkids" vacation to the Homestead with their Bed and Breakfast deal. I'd been there many times as a VMEA Convention participate (in November), but never as a regular guest. We arrived on our 1st night with no Homestead reservations for supper and they were not available until late. So we went to Lindsay's. We all enjoyed our meals and it was just like what you would expect in a very small village. We will always include one meal there when we go back to Hot Springs. Staff was just great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    51
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Down Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

So, your staying at the Homestead and you need a grease fix. This is the place! Cold beer, a cheese (American only) burger with grilled onions and a big basket of sweet potato fries. Life should be so simple and satisfying. Expect nothing more or less and it is worth the short drive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“AMERICANA AT ITS BEST”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I describe this place as a "real dive".. a "beer joint".. but you know what... I always leave satisfied with my food and service. It was so hot in there on Monday.. I think the Elvis portrait was sweating but the chicken salad and ice tea cooled me right down. I make at least one visit while staying at The Homestead. Its a good value!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calhoun, GA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Homemade deserts and hot fries-yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Have been here several times over the years when visiting the Homestead. The burger was just ok, but I love their hot fries. They are very spicy and very good. I had peanut butter pie for desert and it was amazing. All of their deserts are homemade and their milkshakes are great too. Not much on atmosphere, but if you are looking for good cheap eats near the Homestead, I recommend stopping here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howland, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Why not?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you're hungry and visiting Hot Springs then you don't have many choices, so why not try Lindsay's? We had the chipped beef for breakfast and it was just fine. The waitress was very pleasant and the food came quickly. Nothing awesome but it did the trick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill also viewed

Hot Springs, VA
 

Been to Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.