We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMERICANA AT ITS BEST” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill

Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill
15 Sunset Hill Road, Hot Springs, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ashland, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“AMERICANA AT ITS BEST”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I describe this place as a "real dive".. a "beer joint".. but you know what... I always leave satisfied with my food and service. It was so hot in there on Monday.. I think the Elvis portrait was sweating but the chicken salad and ice tea cooled me right down. I make at least one visit while staying at The Homestead. Its a good value!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    51
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
calhoun, GA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Homemade deserts and hot fries-yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Have been here several times over the years when visiting the Homestead. The burger was just ok, but I love their hot fries. They are very spicy and very good. I had peanut butter pie for desert and it was amazing. All of their deserts are homemade and their milkshakes are great too. Not much on atmosphere, but if you are looking for good cheap eats near the Homestead, I recommend stopping here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howland, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Why not?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you're hungry and visiting Hot Springs then you don't have many choices, so why not try Lindsay's? We had the chipped beef for breakfast and it was just fine. The waitress was very pleasant and the food came quickly. Nothing awesome but it did the trick.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Long Branch, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Where was the arches when you needed them.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were camping in the area and decided to eat out instead of cooking. We like to pick off beat places because we often find a gem but this place was not one our successes. We drove up and down route 220 and found this place tucked away on a narrow side street.

The atmosphere is typical luncheonette - not unexpected. Parking was tough to come by, we went in and asked where to park and was told to park along the building.

I had the hamburger which was your typical supermarket frozen variety - I hate fast food places but I find their burgers better than the one I had here. My wife had the shredded pork sandwich which she swears came right out of a can. They need to take a step up and buy fresh made burgers and BBQ shredded pork at the local market as a starter.

The other reviews I read were right - this place is a welcome relief from the prices charged at the nearby resort but I guess they don't understand that you get what you pay for.

The staff was friendly but our waitress gave us the wrong bill which she quickly fixed and apologized - not a big deal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Down-home food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After being awed by the prices at the Homestead, finding this little gem was like a breath of fresh air. Had the barbeque sandwich with cole slaw and fries. Barbeque was very moist and tasty, cole slaw very good, fries were not quite the way I liked them, but my colleagues did. Definitely a place to check out -- your wallet and your stomach will thank you!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill also viewed

Hot Springs, VA
 

Been to Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.