We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where was the arches when you needed them.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill

Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill
15 Sunset Hill Road, Hot Springs, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
West Long Branch, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Where was the arches when you needed them.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were camping in the area and decided to eat out instead of cooking. We like to pick off beat places because we often find a gem but this place was not one our successes. We drove up and down route 220 and found this place tucked away on a narrow side street.

The atmosphere is typical luncheonette - not unexpected. Parking was tough to come by, we went in and asked where to park and was told to park along the building.

I had the hamburger which was your typical supermarket frozen variety - I hate fast food places but I find their burgers better than the one I had here. My wife had the shredded pork sandwich which she swears came right out of a can. They need to take a step up and buy fresh made burgers and BBQ shredded pork at the local market as a starter.

The other reviews I read were right - this place is a welcome relief from the prices charged at the nearby resort but I guess they don't understand that you get what you pay for.

The staff was friendly but our waitress gave us the wrong bill which she quickly fixed and apologized - not a big deal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    53
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Down-home food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After being awed by the prices at the Homestead, finding this little gem was like a breath of fresh air. Had the barbeque sandwich with cole slaw and fries. Barbeque was very moist and tasty, cole slaw very good, fries were not quite the way I liked them, but my colleagues did. Definitely a place to check out -- your wallet and your stomach will thank you!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Inexpensive alternative to the pricey outlets of the Homestead”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nothing to write home about, but super friendly wait staff and very inexpensive alternative to the ultra expensive restaurants with in the Homestead itself.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

small restaurant and great prices, staff was awesome and after they get to know you its like a new family

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishing Creek, Maryland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“A hole in the wall but will fill the hole in your tummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We went here as a change of pace meal after eating the fancy fixins at the Homestead for multiple meals, and found it to be a charming, friendly joint that one would expect to find in the mountains of Southwest Virginia. The food was really good, and the staff very friendly. If we came back, we'd definitely stop in again. The perfect place when you've just had enough luxury from the resort. Unless you have a phobia of Elvis, that is. Then by all means stay away from here.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill also viewed

Hot Springs, VA
 

Been to Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindsay's Roost Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.