We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely getaway to the mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Homestead

The Homestead
U.S. Route 220 Main Street, Hot Springs, VA 24445
540-839-1766
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses, Spas, Historic Sites
Activities: Golfing, Horseback riding
Attraction Details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely getaway to the mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is one of our favorite mountain getaways for the family. Enjoyed afternoon tea (really good cucumber sandwiches) with our girls--definitely one of our favorite things to do. Have also enjoyed the recent addition to the resort--the lazy river and waterpark were a big hit for the kids and the whole family (more kid-friendly than the old pool house). So much stuff to do for the whole family--our most favorite would have to be simmering down the mineral hot springs! If you are staying in the resort--you definitely have to give it a try!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    6
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Favorite Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have been to this resort several times, and it only gets better with time. Having come under the Omni network, many upgrades have been made. Improved activities, revamped restaurants. Even more our favorite place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Still Gracious After All These Years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Homestead manages to walk a fine line between last century elegance and modern excess. The cliché, “you get what you pay for” is quite true there. Fortunately, it is a positive. If you do spend to excess you get your money’s worth. Likewise, spending less still nets you first class return on your investment. Either way you will spend. You just won’t feel bad about it.

Perhaps the dining room has suffered from occasional understaffing, which changed elegant leisurely dining into slow service. More often than not that perception was a function of diners not appreciating the former.

The amenities, the menus, the setting, the accommodations, and especially the service personnel make The Homestead an institution well worth patronizing and preserving.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olumbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband were here in September and everything was great. The staff was nice and attentive. The room was great with a nice outdoor porch which we irised for several hours. The breakfast buffet was to die for. The cascade gorge hike was the best thing we had ever done. Our guide was Brian and he made the tour the best we have ever taken. It was really about 2.5 miles long and definitely for moderate to advanced hikers, but there were lots of stops. So educational and fun and a perfect weather day for it. Sam sneads tavern was just OK. We didn't eat in the dining room for dinner as you had to wear a jacket (men) and dress up. They would have to pay us to dress up to eat there. We just loved this place and plan to go here yearly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Mills, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Since being bought by Omni, very much needed renovations have been done. Very obvious improvements since last visit there, i.e. painting, water slide, lazy river

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Homestead also viewed

 

Been to The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Homestead to your Saves list