We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic historic resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Homestead

The Homestead
U.S. Route 220 Main Street, Hot Springs, VA 24445
540-839-1766
Website
Update attraction details
Type: Golf Courses, Spas, Historic Sites
Activities: Golfing, Horseback riding
Attraction Details
High Point, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“romantic historic resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

well they say it's been around from 1766, but really the most recent prior iteration burned in 1901, so really the resort is about 110 years old. it does show its age here and there, and some of the staff need some training and organization. omni just took over and may improve things.

there is a new canyon ranch spa. the treatment was excellent. the spa has an outdoor pool, an outdoor mineral pool, an indoor pool, and gender-separate "aquavanna" suites that contain basically steamrooms, saunas, and gimmicky showers and cold rooms. the spa is ok- it's relaxing but not worth more than a half day. if you've been to the grove park spa, don't expect quite that out of this.

the new family pool and lazy river looked great. the golf courses are self explanatory and in good condition. there are lots of activities for the family. we took a private guided horse ride and it was good but expensive.

basically, the property needs some upkeep, and the staff while overall friendly does need to tighten up their routine, but we'd go back and bring the kids. this is in a beautiful virginia mountain setting and worth re-visiting several times.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    6
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Churchville, Maryland
1 review
“Beautiful Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a wondeful stay 8/8-8/11/13 while attending a Golf Chanel Am Tour regional tournament.
The Omni International folks took over a few months ago and have been making improvements since. There was a lot going on from family vaca's, weddings, lots of gofers and adventurers. My wife enjoyed the falconry and skeet shooting while I enjoyed the golf courses emensly. Be sure to book these early as they fill up. Most of the service we received was excellent. Ate in the Main dining room one night and enjoyed the food, service and music. Gilbert was a good waiter. The Casino (pro shop) restaurant was very good and a nice outdoor experience as they started the Bon fire for smoores later.
As for the incredible golf courses, you will have to read my reviews on those. Very different and an exceptional play. Worth the trip just for the golf.
This resort is not for the value shopper. Most things cost more than you think they should. You can't get a dollar Coke at Disney either. If you consider the beauty, history and opportunities for adventure it is a great getaway. Some areas did show their age but that is part of the experience.
Our room was nice and very comfortable and modern. Room service was excellent. This was what you would expect for an upscale resort. I would have given it 4.5 stars except for a couple of staff people that should be in a different field other than hospitality. The front desk check in clerk had no voice. HELLO! Bad first impression. The large bag drop boy was melancholy and unhelpful. There are only 5,000 people in Bath County. They had to reach out to surrounding areas to get employees.
We did eat outside the resort a couple of times and had good reasonable food. Many people (especially families) brought coolers of drinks and snacks. A family of 5 could spend $200 a meal in the resort.
We both agreed on the beautiful drive home that we would like to return. I hope the AM Tour returns.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham,NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Can be relaxing. Ample activities . The restaurants need to improve in organization and quality. Also need to make the price a real value.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
1 review
“on the way down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Went to the homestead for a few days. The Hotel and other buildings are in need of major repair the food is not good for the price most of the staff act like they are not happy working there every thing is just rundown and it is very $$$. The pool area is very nice but other than that I can't say much nice about it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Food sucks. Golf was not worth spending money. Pool was SMALL. You pretty much have to pay every amenities they have to be able to use it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Homestead also viewed

 

Been to The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.