We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy We Stopped” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Cafe

Country Cafe
6156 Sam Snead Hwy, Hot Springs, VA
(540) 839-2111
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Happy We Stopped”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Great country restaurant out in the middle of Gods country in rural Virginia. My daughter and I were thouroughly pleased. The food was great, staff friendly and prices resonable. After swimming at Jefferson Pools & Falling Springs falls this place hit the spot. My daughter had the chicken wrap, potato chips and a soft drink. I had the chopped steak with onions and gravy, baked potato, cole slaw and iced tea. We ate everything except for a few potato chips. I was actually suprised at how good it was and would definitely suggest anyone driving by to stop in and get lunch. The desserts looked great as well but we didn't have room to sample them. The view was also great as we watched a couple deer walking thru a pasture on the side of the mountain across the road.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    45
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, nice wait staff, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Good Southern cooking in a pleasant setting. Frequented by both locals and escapees from the resort. Give it a try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Basic Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is one of only a handful of places to eat in the area, especially if you don't want to dine at one of the Homestead's restaurants. It is a good, basic restaurant - no frills, nothing fancy - just good.

The servers are friendly, attentive and helpful.

The menu features good, basic food with an emphasis on "country" favorites. I have had both breakfast and lunch. Lunch can be a little tough as I have to follow a gluten-free diet, but there are options. Breakfast is oriented toward traditional favorites. The grits are good, the omelets are tasty, and everything is fresh. My friends almost quarreled over who would get one of the pies to take home.

Give it a try. The busy parking lot should tell you that it is popular! (If it were not for the good food and the friendly staff I would have rated it Average.)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good affordable restaurant ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The County Cafe will not set the mood for a romantic evening, but it serves up good, fresh food at a price no one can argue with and the dining area is clean. My wife and I ate there several times and the food was always fresh and tasty. If you want to be wowed, try a fancier place. The service is good, but not great as they can get very busy. I highly recommend if you are looking for an affordable alternative to the Homestead.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Homestead a couple of days ago and was told by locals to give Country Cafe a try. It was a short drive from the resort and the food was excellent. Our waiter was very friendly and we loved talking to her. I would highly recommend if in the area give them a try you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Country Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.