We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good affordable restaurant ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Cafe

Country Cafe
6156 Sam Snead Hwy, Hot Springs, VA
(540) 839-2111
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good affordable restaurant ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The County Cafe will not set the mood for a romantic evening, but it serves up good, fresh food at a price no one can argue with and the dining area is clean. My wife and I ate there several times and the food was always fresh and tasty. If you want to be wowed, try a fancier place. The service is good, but not great as they can get very busy. I highly recommend if you are looking for an affordable alternative to the Homestead.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    45
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Homestead a couple of days ago and was told by locals to give Country Cafe a try. It was a short drive from the resort and the food was excellent. Our waiter was very friendly and we loved talking to her. I would highly recommend if in the area give them a try you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best place to eat near Homestead Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had a lunch and then returned for dinner at this pleasant little roadside cafe. Plusses: (1) Prices are VERY reasonable for a resort area. Think less than $15 for a complete dinner and less than $10 for a full lunch. (2) Quality is outstanding. Our 8 oz steak was cooked to perfection and was a very good quality piece of meat. The Allegheny trout should not be missed. It is fresh, locally caught and nicely seasoned and cooked. (3) The owner and staff are all part of one local family. They are very pleasant folks, and they can give you lots of local insights. (4) Kids get a special menu with all their favorites and quite reasonably priced. Downsides: (1) The menu is quite limited and is heavy on chicken and fried dishes. (2) The decor and furniture are simple and close to fast food restaurant quality. (3) It may take you some time to get served. Staff are quite limited and if the cafe is full, they are hard pressed to serve everyone. This is not a problem if you go with the flow and take a relaxed attitude to service. All in all an excellent choice if you want moderate prices, quality home cooking, and a down home country experience. Check out the stuffed black bear in the waiting area:-)!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We always try and eat at the Country Cafe while at the Homestead. Delicious food & great prices. An affordable meal that tastes good! Very casual ….highly recommend the peanut butter pie!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“best breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a casual restaurant close to The Homestead Resort. Clean, very reasonably priced. Two of us had a wonderful breakfast for under $15. The day before, we paid almost $75 at The Homestead where we were staying. Definitely worth the short drive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Country Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.