We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cascades at The Homestead

Cascades at The Homestead
U.S. Route 220 Main Street, P.O. Box 2000, Hot Springs, VA 24445
800-838-1766
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 6,659-yard, William Flynn-designed golf course winds through Virginia's majestic Allegheny Mountains and is known for its gorgeous scenery and challenging layout.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

beautiful but stuffy, I do not feel like they enjoy having children there. it would be great if you travel without children.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a beautiful course. It has plenty of challenge and the views are beautiful. We all enjoyed it. We took a fore caddy and it is worth it. There are a lot of blind shots and it helps to know where to aim. We paid AFTER our round and were surprised to learn it was $200 a person. We were surprised to say the least. It's a beautiful course but was $500 a round for two, too expensive for us.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice course -- no direction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I played this course in April. It was in super shape and had some beautiful holes. However, many of the holes run along the main road so you don't get the back in the wilderness feeling that I was looking for. Also, with such a big green fee they should have GPS on the carts or at least have a yardage book you could buy. Blind tee shots and and no yardage to hazards make this a trying course to play. Not a course for high handicap golfers.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Difficult and long course (Par 70), but in perfect condition. Vistas will wow you. Soft greens, but extremely fast. Trouble looms everywhere.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We played Oct. 20 2012. Although it was overcast and chilly, we had a great time. The course is beautiful and although challenging, it is fair if you play smart. I was mesmerized by all of the beautiful foilage and views and we truly enjoyed ourselves. There were a couple of downfalls, though, in my opinion. From hole 6 to maybe 12, all of the spring water features are dry as a bone. I asked what happened and they said everything just dried up this summer. The water on 16 and 18 is still there. Not really anything they can do about that. It was also very slow the day we played. We were behind a very slow foursome and even after we joined up with the twosome behind us on #12, it still took over five hours to play. It was very jammed up behind us because of that foursome. No marshalls in sight. I also felt the $225 it costs to play here is a bit overpriced. While it was a beautiful course, it is not worth that kind of money.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascades at The Homestead also viewed

 

Been to Cascades at The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascades at The Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.