We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cascades at The Homestead

Cascades at The Homestead
U.S. Route 220 Main Street, P.O. Box 2000, Hot Springs, VA 24445
800-838-1766
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 6,659-yard, William Flynn-designed golf course winds through Virginia's majestic Allegheny Mountains and is known for its gorgeous scenery and challenging layout.
High Point, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Difficult and long course (Par 70), but in perfect condition. Vistas will wow you. Soft greens, but extremely fast. Trouble looms everywhere.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We played Oct. 20 2012. Although it was overcast and chilly, we had a great time. The course is beautiful and although challenging, it is fair if you play smart. I was mesmerized by all of the beautiful foilage and views and we truly enjoyed ourselves. There were a couple of downfalls, though, in my opinion. From hole 6 to maybe 12, all of the spring water features are dry as a bone. I asked what happened and they said everything just dried up this summer. The water on 16 and 18 is still there. Not really anything they can do about that. It was also very slow the day we played. We were behind a very slow foursome and even after we joined up with the twosome behind us on #12, it still took over five hours to play. It was very jammed up behind us because of that foursome. No marshalls in sight. I also felt the $225 it costs to play here is a bit overpriced. While it was a beautiful course, it is not worth that kind of money.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Golf and fall foliage at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Golf at the Cascades in the fall is a walk in heaven. The course is manicured to perfection and the fall foliage on the mountains is breathtaking. The only weakness is no driving range.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Superb golf course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Cascades is simply a great golf course. You can complain that the 3rd hole is too short (but it is really difficult to par!) or that the cart path on the 12th is awkward (it is, but there is almost no place for it), but this is such a great course. You work hard to get on the green, and then you discover that the green has subtle slopes and twists that make a 2-putt a real challenge. When we played, the pin was in the front on lots of holes -- which made them really difficult (try to read the 8th with the pin in front; try to get close on the 16th). You are challenged, and forced to think, on just about every shot.
(My foursome was, I think, ideally suited for the course: our drives went from 200 to 230 yards or so. Some really big hitters might find the holes a little short; but once they get on the greens, they'll discover the subtleties there, which long drives do not prevent.)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“One of the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We've played alot of great golf courses including Pinhurst courses, Kiawah coures and Sea Island Ocean and Plantation courses. Next to Sea Island Ocean this was my favorite. Not a golf factory, beautiful scenery, variety of holes to make good use of all your clubs and the course is in great condition. Oh, pretty good value for money, relatively speaking. Old course is almost as good as well.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascades at The Homestead also viewed

 

Been to Cascades at The Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascades at The Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.