We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Old Course

Homestead Old Course
U.S. Route 220 Main Street, Hot Springs, VA 24445
800-838-1766
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Redesigned by Rees Jones, this historic 18-hole golf course has been transformed into a challenging par-72 layout.
Greer, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Course is in excellent condition. No water hazards which is a plus. Greens are fairly fast. Folks in the clubhouse very helpful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Old Course Challenge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

It was cold and very windy the day we played. The course was in great shape and the greens putted true. Be very careful with a downhill putt!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Stunning view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Golfers (which I am not) love it, but for the rest of us, riding or walking the course is worth it for the beauty. It's magnificently landscaped.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it! Fantastic views and challenging, but fair, golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We played the Old Course 10/21. We loved it! We were the first out, so had the course to ourselves. There were some truly amazing views of the mountains, hotel and golf holes. We found the course to be challenging, but fair. We both played well and had a lot of fun. The staff associated with the golf course were also very friendly and helpful, probably more so than any of the other staff at the hotel.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent except for Father John”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wonderful course. Don't let others just play ahead of you without asking. They tend to let just anyone pop on and off the course with no marshall!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homestead Old Course also viewed

 

Been to Homestead Old Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Old Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.