We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Victorian Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King's Victorian Inn Bed and Breakfast
RR 1 Box 622, Hot Springs, VA 24445   |  
Hotel amenities
Newport News, Va
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

The owners were very friendly and gracious hosts! The home is beautiful, furnishings are fitting and tasteful, the food was very good and the 3 cats were adorable (outside cats). Hot Srings itself is gorgeous and I would not hesitate to return for another stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York PA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

Spent two fabulous days with the innkeepers, Liz and Richard King. They made us feel like family. Home was exquisite. Our room was huge and gorgeous. Had a lovely little sunroom right next to our room. Cookies and lemonade every afternoon. Was very reasonable for the luxurious surroundings. We will definitely be repeat guests

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

My husband and I were fortunate enough to have been given the gift of a long weekend at the Kings Victorian Inn. We could not have had a nicer stay. The innkeepers, Richard and Liz King, are warm and accommodating and happy to share their glorious 1899 Queen Anne home with you. Meeting them was like meeting old friends. It was fun to tour the few high spots that Bath County tourism offers, but we especially enjoyed the peace and quiet. We decompressed easily -- just sitting on the wraparound porch with a good book or other guests, sipping fresh lemonade and pound cake. We stayed Julie's Room, which was lovely, but every room we saw was as pretty (if not prettier) in person than it appeared on the website. The housekeeping was impeccable and unobtrusive. And the breakfasts were wonderful (and very filling). My only wish would be that our hosts could have a full-scale restaurant on-site since we surely would have been glad to eat lunch and/or dinner there, too. If you're looking for an alternative to The Homestead's prices, but with similar proximity to its recreational amenitites, you won't be disappointed by Kings Victorian Inn. I know we'll be happy to return. chl/sjl

  • Liked — The innkeepers, Liz and Richard, were great
  • Disliked — Leaving.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

My jaw dropped when we pulled up to the gorgeous King's Victorian Inn. Once we brought up our bags, we were invited to enjoy some lemonade and cookies on the wrap-around front porch. Everything about our stay was just right. The Kings were great company at breakfast, our room was beautiful (with the plushest carpet I've ever experienced!) and the food was delicious. This inn and the beautiful surroundings of Bath County are a perfect setting for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA (PIT)
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

After more than a dozen visits I nominate Liz as the best host / decorator / housekeeper / gardener in the Virginias now that Martha is safely back in New York. (wink) Anyway, the place is wonderful, relaxing & beautifully decorated. This is a very substantial old house and the Kings do a wonderful job. Bath County is a very quiet, pristine, history rich, friendly place. Lots of movers & shakers crawl this area so keep your eyes open. Ask about the secret NASA connection to the King House. The story about the bank robbery isn’t too bad either. In fact, this house is full of great stories, like the one about the cave that had a speak-easy in it during prohibition……. Submitted by, John from PA.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the King's Victorian Inn for a night after staying at the Homestead. We loved the Inn! Great location within walking distance of the Homestead and all the activities and dining options the resort has to offer. The owners were great, informative, and accomodating. They even made us fresh milk and cookies in the evening. The room was huge, nicely decorated, and very private. Great breakfast. In the future we will stay here rather than the Homestead, and use the money we save for golf, fly-fishing, shooting, and all the other activities the resort has to offer.

  • Liked — accomodations and owners
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2004

This is a beautiful place. Placed in the heart of the mountains the Kings inn is a great place to get away from it all. The Kings are very nice people and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King's Victorian Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Victorian Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: RR 1 Box 622, Hot Springs, VA 24445
Location: United States > Virginia > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Victorian Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added King's Victorian Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list